The Baking Challenge

What is “The Baking Challenge”?

I have learned over the years that I enjoy being challenged.  I guess the competitive side of me comes out, and I want to prove that I can rise to the occasion, finish the project, or reach a personal best.  I will go ahead and tell you, though, that I’m not always equally enthusiastic about different challenges.  For example, Brian and I have started running again recently – that was a tough one for me at the beginning.  With practice though, you always seem to get better at whatever it is you are working on.  That is one reason I was excited about this baking challenge.

Growing up, I loved being able to help Mom in the kitchen.  Everyone has always raved about everything she takes out of the oven, and for good reason.  I have had a very good teacher, and I have lots to live up to.  She has taught me well, but I wanted that extra push to try new things and get out of my comfort zone in the kitchen.  I can bake cookies and cakes, but what does it take to give these treats that extra pizazz?  What about all of the tarts, pastries, breads, and specialty cakes that I haven’t attempted yet?

Baby Anna

This is my challenge for myself.  I am going to bake my way through the cookbook Baking by Better Homes and Gardens.  My goal is to make at least one recipe from the book each week for the next year.  Then, we will just see where things take us.  There are around 350 recipes in the book, but I know that for mine and my families health, that should not be attempted in a year!  (If there is any chocolate in our house, it tends to disappear very quickly.)  I know that each week will be different, and I already know that everything will likely not turn out as planned… so stay tuned for the stories.  This is part of what I hope to get from this experience:

  • good stories
  • new skills
  • few pounds
  • good food!
  • and most importantly, new friends.

Just incase you were wondering, yes, I am a little inspired by Julie and Julia.  If you haven’t seen the movie/heard the story, I think you should check it out. 🙂

9 thoughts on “The Baking Challenge

  1. Sounds fun! I’ve thought of doing similar challenges but backed down for “health” reasons as well – a baked good does not last long around me! Look forward to reading about your adventures!

  2. Pingback: White Bread – Week 8 | thelittlebluemixer

  3. Pingback: Almond Shortbread Wedges – Week 11 | thelittlebluemixer

  4. Pingback: Devil’s Food Cake – Week 14 | thelittlebluemixer

  5. Pingback: Milk Chocolate Cheesecake – Week 22 | thelittlebluemixer

  6. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

  7. Pingback: Gooey Mixed Nut Bars – Week 47 | thelittlebluemixer

  8. Pingback: Vanilla Sprinkle Cake – Week 52!! | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

