Fudgy Saucepan Brownies – Week 2

The name for this recipe was spot-on – FUDGY Saucepan Brownies.  They were surprisingly quick and simple to make, and they turned out great!  These brownies are mixed up right on the stovetop, and it was a cinch to clean up afterwards.  The only prep work involved was cutting up the unsweetened chocolate and the pecans.  Quick and easy!

DSC_0010

After cutting up the chocolate, I tossed it in the pan to melt with some butter.  Stirring over low heat for a little while, everything smoothed out into nice shiny chocolate.

DSC_0029

Next, I added the sugar, followed by the eggs, vanilla, and flour mixture.  The recipe only called for  2/3 cup of flour.  When I first read through the recipe, I was surprised by such a small amount, but it definitely helped give the brownies that fudgy texture.

DSC_0124

Once everything was mixed together, I added in some pecans.  They were optional in the recipe, but I’m really glad I chose to use them.  The crunch in the brownies added a nice extra touch.

DSC_0070

Then, just pour everything into the pan and bake!  I learned something new this week on how to line your pan with aluminum foil.  I am probably kind of late in the game on figuring this out, but oh well!  Here it is: flip your pan upside down and fit the aluminum foil around the outside; when you turn the pan over, the foil it will fit right in.  I usually end up tearing the foil in a few places while lining the pans, so I found it to be helpful!

DSC_0087

Ok, back to the brownies.  Once they came out of the oven, I let them cool while mixing up some icing.  Yep, Chocolate-Cream Cheese Frosting.  Better Homes and Gardens, you knew what you were doing with this one.  There are only three ingredients – chocolate chips, cream cheese, and powdered sugar – leaving hardly any room for error.

DSC_0017

Melt the chocolate; mix in cream cheese; mix in powdered sugar.  I really enjoyed how simple this whole recipe was.

DSC_0147

Once the brownies cooled, I added on the icing.  Ta-da!

DSC_0222

Look at that fudgy center!  These were really good.  I’ve only been through two recipes in the cookbook so far, but I would already recommend you check it out.  Hopefully everything continues to go smoothly as I get into some of the more difficult recipes in coming weeks.  It is looking like cake will be on the menu for week 3!

DSC_0259

 

Thanks for stopping by!

 

4 thoughts on “Fudgy Saucepan Brownies – Week 2

  1. This looks delicious! By the way, would you like to join Fiesta Friday? If you have not heard of it, it’s an amazing virtual party ever! The link is provided for the guidelines: http://thenovicegardener.wordpress.com/fiesta-friday/

    Also, find out why I love Fiesta Fridays: http://thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com/2014/05/06/lets-talk-about-fiesta-friday-join-us-on-this-fun-and-amazing-party-ever/

    We’d be glad to have you!

    xx Jhuls
    http://thenotsocreativecook.wordpress.com/

  2. Pingback: Introducing ‘new’ bloggers #4 | thenotsocreativecook

  3. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

  4. Pingback: Perfect Fudge Brownies | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

