Make-It-Mine Snack Cake – Week 3

This week was a little interesting… but all turned out well in the end!  This definitely wasn’t one of the standard recipes where you follow it to a T except for that one optional ingredient.  Nope.  Instead, this week I was able to build my own recipe based on several options given.  I had to choose the flour, sweetener, liquid, and flavoring for the cake, and decide which topper and sprinkle to put on the cake after cooking.  To be honest, I was more than a little skeptical on how it would turn out in the end.  How would whoever put this recipe together have tried all of the options?  The engineer in me came out and started figuring out how many combinations were possible for this cake.  8,000 to be exact.  BUT, that is if you DIDN’T do like me and use multiple toppings…  Sometimes I have a problem with decision making.  🙂

To make all of these decisions easier, I decided to just go the easy route.  For me, that meant just using whatever I had in the pantry.  No trips to the grocery store this go-round.  I was going to toss together whatever I had and hope for the best!

DSC_0005

It turned out to be a lot of ingredients!

To start things off, I added all of the dry ingredients into a bowl and whisked until it was all combined.

DSC_0019

Then, I added in all of the wet ingredients followed by the eggs.  Pretty simple!  Now I was finished with mixing up the cake.  All that was left was to cook the cake, prep the topper, and make whichever sprinkle I was going to add on top.  (Which I still hadn’t decided on yet.)

DSC_0036

At this point, I had about 20 minutes until the topper needed to be added to the cake and put back in the over for the duration of the baking time.  Since I couldn’t choose just one,  I decided to use toasted pecans, chocolate chips, and coconut flakes as my toppers.  The chocolate chips and coconut were ready to go, so I chopped up some pecans and put them in the toaster oven for a few minutes.  Side note – my least favorite thing about baking or cooking in general is the clean up that comes afterward.  So, feeling proactive, I thought I would multi-task a few things and get the dishes washed while the cake was baking and the pecans were toasting.  When I was almost done with the dishes, I realized the toaster oven hadn’t gone off yet.  Well, this is what ended up happening….

DSC_0070

Thats right, BURNT TO A CRISP pecans.  I opened up the toaster and was greeted with a lovely smell that resembled burnt popcorn and smoke.  (No worries, there was no actual fire!)  It didn’t take long for the smoke alarm to start going off in the apartment, and before I knew it I was running around opening up doors and turning on fans to make it go off!  After everything calmed down, I decided to give it another shot.

DSC_0072

I kept a close eye on the toaster, and things turned out much better the second time around!  When the cake came out of the oven after the first 20 minutes, I added the toppers and put it back in for the duration of the time.  When it was finished baking, all that was left was to let it cool and then add the sprinkle.

DSC_0088

Just like with choosing the topper, I couldn’t quite decide on which sprinkle option to use.  So, I picked two!  First up, I drizzled on some icing made of powdered sugar and water.

DSC_0095

To finish up, I melted some chocolate and sprinkled it on top!

DSC_0112

Look at all of these toppings!

DSC_0121

Although it looked pretty delicious, at this point I was still a little skeptical on how it would taste.  (Remember all of those options for ingredients I talked about earlier and me choosing to just go with whatever I had in the pantry..)  But, with all of that chocolate, how could you really go wrong?

DSC_0154

It was good!  The cake was moist and the toppings added just enough sweetness without being overwhelming.  It wasn’t like your normal cake and buttercream icing, but I think this is a nice variation to the original that we all love.

DSC_0150

Since Brian and I didn’t want this yumminess sitting around the house all week for us to munch on, I cut it up, and Brian took it to work with him one day.  It was all gone before lunch!  Success!

Later this week is Brian’s birthday, so I am going to attempt one of his favorites – carrot cake!  This will be a new one for me, but I’m excited about it.  Yay for birthdays!

As always, thanks so much for stopping by!  I hope you all had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend and have a blessed remainder of the week.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Make-It-Mine Snack Cake – Week 3

  1. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

