Rustic Chocolate Tart – Week 5

This week I had to choose from the “Pies and Tarts” section of the cookbook.  I wanted to opt for something a little lighter since we had so many desserts around the house last week, so I decided on this Rustic Chocolate Tart.  This was my first time making a tart, and now I am looking forward to making more!  I am especially excited about trying one with some South Carolina peaches later this summer.  Mmmm 🙂

DSC_0009

First up was making the crust, which was pretty simple to put together.  First, you cut together the flour and butter.  Then, add a little cold water and knead it together.

I used two knives to cut together the flour and butter; however, I’m sure it would be easier and quicker to use a pastry blender if you have one.  Until I invest in one, I will just be honing my inner old school Betty Crocker.  🙂

DSC_0011

Waiting on the dough was probably the longest part of the process.  It needed to chill for about 30 minutes and then sit at room temperature for 30 more.  This was to ensure the dough stayed in one piece without cracking while forming the crust.

DSC_0042

While the crust was baking, I prepped the filling for the tart.  This recipe called for 6 oz. of bittersweet chocolate.  I didn’t have any bittersweet chocolate in my pantry, so I decided to make my own combination.  I used about 60% semisweet and 40% unsweetened chocolate.

DSC_0031

After melting the chocolate, I beat the egg whites until soft peaks formed and added in the sugar.

DSC_0073

Now it was time to fold in the melted chocolate and chopped pecans.  This made for a nice, fluffy, chocolate filling.  Time to fill in the tart and bake!

DSC_0136

Looks pretty good!

DSC_0152

It was pretty tasty too!

DSC_0165

I’m not 100% sure what to compare the taste of this tart to.  It had the fudgy chocolateness you get from brownies, and then there was the nice flaky crust on the bottom.  The recipe directed to store the tart in the fridge, and after it was chilled, the texture almost resembled that of a cheesecake.  It was unique and tasty!

DSC_0179

Thank you all for coming by today and Happy Fiesta Friday!  Have a wonderful weekend!

(And don’t forget about Father’s Day!)

35 thoughts on “Rustic Chocolate Tart – Week 5

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #20 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Oh my goodness, this looks amazing! Thanks so much for bringing it to share with all of us at Fiesta Friday! 🙂

    • Thank you! Yes! I wasn’t familiar with galettes, but I just finished looking them up. They look delicious and very similar!

  3. Pingback: Mom’s Blueberry Muffins | thelittlebluemixer

  4. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

  5. Pingback: Hot Cocoa Soufflé with Coffee Ice Cream – Week 36 | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

