White Chocolate Cheesecake – Week 6

Mmmm, cheesecake.  Cheesecake has always been reserved for special occasions; it was never a treat that we just happened to have around the house.  But, when Mom did make cheesecake, it never lasted very long.  I still think (and I am sure there are many people who will agree) that Mom makes the best cheesecake around.  She makes a traditional New York Style Cheesecake, and it is usually accompanied with either a blueberry or huckleberry sauce.  Talk about delicious.

When I was flipping through all of the cheesecakes recipes in my cookbook, I found myself noticing the calories per serving associated with each type.  Wow.  That’s a good enough reason for only having cheesecake on special occasions.  I ended up choosing White Chocolate Cheesecake which came in at a whopping 580 calories per serving.  Granted, they were opting for only 8 slices per cake.  At least we spread our calories out a little bit with smaller slices. 🙂 That helps, right?  At any rate, it tasted good.

DSC_0195

To start things off, I needed to work on the crust.  The crust is made of crushed Nilla wafers and butter.  I put the cookies in a ziploc bag and rolled over them with a can from the pantry to get them nice and crushed.

DSC_0202

After mixing the cookies with some melted butter, I pressed it into the bottom of the pan.

DSC_0217

For the cheesecake, the cream cheese and melted white chocolate needed to be mixed together.  Next, I added in the sugar, eggs, sour cream, and vanilla.  Nice and creamy.

DSC_0241

It looked pretty good after it came out of the oven and cooled down a bit.

DSC_0285

Mmm, tasty.

DSC_0013

The cheesecake was pretty good!  It tasted more like a regular cheesecake than one with white chocolate, so that was a little disappointing.  If I make this recipe again, I will add more white chocolate to the batter to make sure it stands out a little more.

DSC_0281

The recipe recommended to put white chocolate covered berries on the cheesecake for a topping/decoration.  I didn’t do that this time, but I did cut up some strawberries and eat them with my cheesecake one night.  Mmm, that was delicious!

DSC_0300

Overall, I think we will call this one a success!  Thanks so much for coming by, and I hope you enjoy the rest of your week.  Only a few more days til the weekend!

7 thoughts on “White Chocolate Cheesecake – Week 6

  1. Pingback: Milk Chocolate Cheesecake – Week 22 | thelittlebluemixer

  2. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

