Perfect Peach Crisp – Week 7

Last summer Brian and I took a trip to Charleston, SC in early August.  While there, we were able to visit the downtown farmers market, and we found some of the MOST DELICIOUS peaches.  They were gorgeous and tasty.  Well, fast forward a year, and we have moved to the Charleston area!  Since last summer, I have been looking forward to getting my hands on some fresh peaches and here they are! YUM.

DSC_0013 DSC_0021

This week I am working out of the “desserts” section of the cookbook.  This section is made up of lots of down home treats such as cobblers, crisps, bread puddings, and baked custards.  A lot of the recipes looked pretty tasty, but it was a pretty easy decision to choose something with peaches.

DSC_0039

The most time consuming part of this recipe was cutting up the peaches.  And peaches can be slippery little things, so make sure you’re knife doesn’t just happen to slip out of your hand and stick you….not say that happened to me.  Just a warning for all of you. 😉

DSC_0047

Once all of the peaches were peeled and sliced, I added some sugar and a little flour to sweeten them up.  Mmm.

DSC_0059

To finish things up, I mixed up the “crisp” or topping for the peaches.  The topping was made of oats, brown sugar, flour, cinnamon, butter, and chopped nuts.

Time to put everything together!

DSC_0079

When the peach crisp came out of the oven, it smelled SO good.  I couldn’t wait to taste it.

DSC_0108 DSC_0124

Of course, I had to top it off with a little ice cream first.

DSC_0143

Delicious!  This was a really fun and simple recipe to make; I think I will keep it in my list of go-to’s.

Thank you all for stopping by!  Y’all have a wonderful weekend!

23 thoughts on “Perfect Peach Crisp – Week 7

  1. Nice to see you at the fiesta again, Anna! The crisp looks so yum, especially with ice cream. I’ve been waiting for local peach season to start so I can go picking. Will definitely give this a try. Thanks for sharing with us @FF22. 🙂

  2. My mouth is watering!! I just cut up some peaches this morning for a fruit salad, so I know that they are nice and sweet! Now i want to make a crisp! Thanks for the great recipe!

  3. This looks so good. I’m definitely going to have to bake with some peaches soon since I’m in Georgia, so can’t pass that up! I have a bit of resentment towards peaches though, I CAN’T peel them, I’ve tried every trick in the book and none of them work for me. I baked peach cobbler earlier this year and it took about an hour just to get the peaches peeled! So the next time i baked with them i used canned peaches! I can’t do that while I’m in GA though, that would be blasphemy! Thanks for the inspiration, and sorry about the rant haha!

    • Haha, no worries about the rant 🙂 I feel your pain! Peeling peaches can be tricky and so slow. But you are right, you definitely can NOT pass up fresh peaches in GA!

  4. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

