White Bread – Week 8

For week 8 (by the way, I can’t believe I’m already 8 weeks into The Baking Challenge!) I am working out of the yeast & artisan breads section of the cookbook.  I decided to start off with one of the more basic breads before getting into some of the more complicated looking recipes.  So, we have some lovely white bread this week.

DSC_0174

Growing up, my grandmother always had the most delicious homemade bread.  A few of her friends had a starter, and they would drop a few loaves off at a time for us all to enjoy.  She would slice the bread, butter it, wrap it in aluminum foil, and put it in the oven until lunch or supper was ready.  I remember very few times that there was leftover bread after a meal.  It was/is just SO good.  Needless to say, I had some high expectations for my white bread recipe this week.  It was pretty good, but I just don’t think it can compete with what I grew up with!

DSC_0188

To start off the process, I warmed the milk, butter, sugar, and salt on the stove until the butter was almost melted.  I then added the liquid to the yeast and about half of the flour.

DSC_0199

After beating the mixture together for about three minutes, I turned off the mixer and stirred in some more flour by hand.

DSC_0201

At this point, I still needed to add in more flour to get the mixture to the correct consistency.  The goal is for your dough to be relatively smooth and not sticky.  So, I kneaded in some more flour and here we are…

DSC_0215

Now we are getting to the time consuming part of the process.  The dough needed to rise for about 45 min-1 hour, or until it was about double in size.  The warmest place in our apartment is the laundry room when I’m washing clothes, so I threw a load in to wash and let the bread rise.  Yay for multitasking!

DSC_0228

Once the dough had risen, then came the fun part – punching it back down!

DSC_0231

Next, I separated the dough into two pieces and let them rest for about 10 minutes.  After that time passed, I formed the dough into loaves and placed them in the pans.  Now, the dough needed to rise for another 30-45 minutes or until double in size.

DSC_0243

We are ready to bake!  As you can see, I had two different types of pans.  It was neat to see how the bread baked differently in each.  They were both in the oven for the same amount of time, but the bread in the glass pan rose a lot higher.

DSC_0330

Fresh out of the oven.

DSC_0334

Y’all, this is good stuff.

DSC_0369

We are fans of sandwiches for lunch; this week we didn’t have to buy sandwich bread.  Win.

DSC_0383

Overall, I would give this bread a 6-7 out of 10.  Maybe?  I’m not very good at rating things.  It had good flavor and wasn’t too dense.  After a few days it did get crumbly, but that was to be expected.  As I mentioned earlier, the recipe made two loaves.  (Which is more than we could eat.)  I think if I make this again I will either halve the recipe or freeze a loaf.  Or spread the love and give one away.  That would be the most fun. 🙂

Thank you all so much for stopping by!  I am going to have another special post tomorrow for the 4th of July, so be sure to come check it out!  Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “White Bread – Week 8

  1. Your bread looks great!
    Loved the story about your grandmothers’ bread 😀
    I love bread and especially homemade bread!
    I never made it though… It just seems so difficult but I’m glad you have pictures of every step 😀 Now I can see how it is supposed to look like! Thanks! Maybe I will make some bread after all 🙂

  2. that looks like the perfect bread for a Tomato and Bacon (BLT) sandwich or maybe a BBQ sandwich. That must be a really good cookbook, they should pay you to advertise for them… Mr. Jerrell

  3. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

