White Cupcakes – 4th of July – Week 8

Happy 4th of July!  Today, we celebrate the 238th anniversary of our independence.  I am so thankful for this great country and all those who have fought to protect it throughout the years.

Sweet treats are always great for celebrating holidays, so what could be better than cupcakes for the 4th of July?!  For these cupcakes I used a white cake recipe and buttercream icing.  And the verdict is… they are pretty delicious!

DSC_0109

Growing up, we would usually go to the lake for the 4th.  I have so many fun memories of swimming, fishing, boating, and shooting fireworks off the pier.  We always had so much delicious food too.  (I’m pretty sure there is something about being at the lake, the pool, the river, etc. that makes food taste better.)  Although everything was good, my absolute favorite was homemade milky way ice cream.  Mmm.  I may have to go purchase an ice cream maker soon.

Now, back to the cupcakes.

DSC_0118

This white cake recipe was pretty quick and simple.  To start things off, I creamed together the butter and sugar.  After this was done, I beat in the egg whites one at a time, and then alternately added milk and the flour mixture until everything was combined.

DSC_0119

This recipe called for either buttermilk or sour milk, instead of regular milk.  My cookbook offered a way to make your own sour milk, so I decided to give it a try.  All you have to do is combine 1 tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar with milk until you reach 1 cup of liquid.  (I needed 1 1/3 cups total, so that equated to about 4 teaspoons of lemon juice and the rest milk.)  Then, let the liquid sit for 5 minutes, and you are ready to go!

DSC_0130

Now, it’s time to bake!  I was able to get 24 cupcakes out of this recipe.

DSC_0139

While the cupcakes were cooling, I mixed up the buttercream.  Buttercream is my favorite icing.  It is just so so good.  All you need to mix some up is butter, powdered sugar, vanilla, and milk.

DSC_0173

Just look at how tasty that looks.  I decided to go with 3 colors to decorate my cupcakes – you guessed it – red, white, and blue!

DSC_0269

I had so much fun icing these!

DSC_0308

They are just so pretty!

DSC_0324

And more importantly, tasty.

DSC_0289

I sent the majority of the cupcakes to work with Brian yesterday, and I am happy to report that they were gone in about an hour!

DSC_0314

Ok, here’s the last picture. 🙂

DSC_0281

Thank you all for coming by!  I hope you all have a wonderful 4th of July weekend!  Be sure to celebrate with something sweet 🙂

21 thoughts on “White Cupcakes – 4th of July – Week 8

  1. Wow! Your cupcakes look perfect! The rose shaped frosting is so beautiful!
    I want one, two, three… Maybe four? 😀
    Happy Fourth of July!
    Loved reading about your memories 🙂

  2. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

