Ham and Cheese Slab Pie – Week 10

I am almost tempted to say that breakfast is my favorite meal.  Brian and I enjoy it so much, in fact, that we often have breakfast for dinner.  There are so many quick and basic breakfast items like cereal and oatmeal (our normal go to), but when you have a little extra time there are endless delicious opportunities – eggs, french toast, omelets, pancakes, biscuits, breakfast casseroles, and this fun ham and cheese slab pie!

I was working from the “Morning Favorites” section of my cookbook this week.  There were plenty of options for various cinnamon rolls and donuts, but I was in the mood for something a little more savory as opposed to sweet.  This ended up being perfect.

DSC_0015

For the crust of this ham and cheese slab pie, I used puff pastry sheets.  This was my first time working with puff pastry, and I must say that I am now a huge fan.  The pastry was easy to work with, and the pie was so nice and flaky when it came out of the oven.  After rolling the puff pastry out to the desired size and transferring it to the pan, it was time to start filling in the pie.

DSC_0035

The first layer added to the pie was a simple mixture of cream cheese and honey mustard.

DSC_0021

Next, I added layers of ham, onion, and cheese.

DSC_0052

To seal the pastry, I brushed egg around the edge, folded it over, and used a fork to press the edges together.  Before putting the pie in the oven, I brushed egg over the top of the pie and cut slits let steam out.

DSC_0107

When the pie came out of the oven, it was this wonderful golden color and perfectly crispy and flaky.  I didn’t even want to cut into it!

DSC_0111

But alas, I cut into it.  And it was delicious.

DSC_0114

If you are looking for a new and unique breakfast item, here you go!  It tasted delicious and was different from most of the breakfast items that I have grown accustomed to.  If you are feeling adventurous, it would be simple to change up the flavors by using a variety of meats and cheeses in the pie.  Try it out and let me know how it goes!

DSC_0134

Thanks for coming by!

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend and Happy Fiesta Friday!

24 thoughts on “Ham and Cheese Slab Pie – Week 10

  1. Pingback: The Wizarding World of Harry Potter | Fiesta Friday #25 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Lovely! I have some puff pastry in my freezer I should use and this is a great idea. It would be such a nice change from my usual weekend breakfast fare. Thanks for sharing it.

  3. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

