Sugar Cookies – Week 12

Sugar cookies are so simply delicious.  You can eat them plain, ice them with buttercream or royal icing, or add just about anything sweet to dress them up.  These cookies are great for so many occasions – holidays, birthdays, weddings, showers – but sometimes you just need to make them for no reason in particular.  This was one of the latter occasions. 🙂

I was looking through the Holiday Baking section of my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, and as soon as I saw the sugar cookie recipe I knew what I wanted to make!  For both Thanksgiving and Christmas last year, I made sugar cookies and iced them with buttercream.  [I tried out royal icing, but things didn’t quite turn out as planed.  So, I reverted back to my trusty buttercream recipe!]  This time around I wanted to give royal icing another chance, and things turned out much better!

DSC_0008

I was a little crunched for time, so I decided to spread out making these cookies over a few days.  On day 1, I whipped up the cookie dough and stuck it in the fridge to chill.

DSC_0015

From previous experience, I have learned that dividing your dough into at least two sections, shaping it into a square or rectangle, and wrapping it in saran wrap to chill will make the dough much easier to roll out when it comes out of the fridge.  (Below is a picture of the dough right out of the fridge.)

DSC_0040

On day 2, I baked the cookies.  I wanted to go for a summer theme, so I chose some fun flower shaped cookie cutters.

DSC_0046

I also mixed up the royal icing on day 2 so everything would be ready to go when I had time to start decorating.

DSC_0067

Day 3 – All of the “prep” type work is done and its time for the fun part – icing the cookies!

To ice the cookies, I piped a border around the edge and then filled in the icing from the middle.  I found it helpful to use a small metal spatula to spread out the icing until it reached the border.  Then, just let the cookies sit until they are dry.

DSC_0396DSC_0397

Finally, on day 4, I went back and did some details on top of the base color!

DSC_0421DSC_0463

I had so much fun icing these cookies.  I’m already planning on making another batch sometime soon when I have nothing else to do – then I will settle in and just practice icing cookies all day!  Yep, that sounds like a perfect day.

DSC_0404

These cookies were oh-so-tasty, but I personally prefer the taste of buttercream over royal icing.  Gasp.  I know.  BUT, this icing definitely has the pretty factor going for it!

DSC_0455DSC_0425

I was able to go visit some family in Florida this week, and I brought these cookies to share.  I think sharing my baking creations has been one of my favorite parts of the baking challenge so far. 🙂

DSC_0458

Thank you all for stopping by!  Happy Fiesta Friday and have a fabulous weekend!

28 thoughts on “Sugar Cookies – Week 12

  1. Pingback: Breakfast Biscuit | Fiesta Friday #27 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Aww the cookies are so pretty!! It looks like the Fiesta Friday crowd are all lining up for one, thank you for bringing these gorgeous cookies to Fiesta Friday, and enjoy the party!! 🙂

  3. Oh my… this is cookie perfection! Absolutely beautiful in all the little details you’ve piped on with the icing. Thank you so much Anna for sharing these at FF this week – they are really something to aspire to! Cheers, Margot

  4. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

