Chocolate Chip and Peanut Butter Cookies – Week 13

If you are a fan of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, you would most likely be a fan of these cookies.  They are filled to the brim with peanut butter and have just the right amount of chocolate added in.  Or so I’m told.  You see, to be completely honest, I’m not the biggest fan of peanut butter.  BUT – the husband is a peanut butter lover, and he has given these cookies a raving review!

As I was looking through the Home Baking section of my cookbook, I just couldn’t settle on a recipe that I loved.  Some of the recipes looked decent while others just didn’t seem appetizing at the moment.  Nothing was jumping off the page and yelling “Pick me, pick me!”  So, I decided I would choose something I knew Brian would like – and here we have Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies!  Turns out, these were fun to make, and I especially enjoyed the chocolate drizzle at the end.  🙂

DSC_0017

To start off these cookies, I mixed together the butter and peanut butter.

DSC_0035

Next, I mixed in the sugars and then the Bisquick.

Using Bisquick in a recipe like this was new for me.  I think this section of the cookbook was focusing on providing quick and easy recipes with simple ingredients.  Every recipe in the section included a box mix of some sort.  I understand and appreciate box mixes.  Really, I do.  They make life simple in a crunch, and for the most part, they are quite tasty.  I have used them and will continue to use them on certain occasions.  But, I personally prefer the process of the made-from-scratch method and seeing what I can make from the basic ingredients in my cabinet. 🙂

Anyways, the dough came out nice and thick.

DSC_0073

Now, I just added in some chocolate and peanut butter pieces and the cookies were ready to go in the oven.

DSC_0091

And when they came out of the oven…

DSC_0114 DSC_0122 DSC_0153

Now this is the really fun part – adding chocolate. 🙂

DSC_0203 DSC_0219

And then, as if there wasn’t already enough, I added a little bit more…  After all, you can’t throw away good chocolate!

DSC_0227DSC_0237

I couldn’t go through the process of making cookies and then not taste them – even if they are full of peanut butter.  And, you know what, for loads of an ingredient that I’m not too fond of, I didn’t think these were half bad.  Maybe my taste buds are slowly changing.  Until then, Brian is lucky enough to have the whole batch to himself!  (Which I think he is ok with.)

DSC_0301DSC_0257

Thank you all for stopping by today!  I hope you all have a fabulous weekend!  Be sure to go visit Fiesta Friday and see what lovely things my fellow bloggers are cooking up.

22 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip and Peanut Butter Cookies – Week 13

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #28 | The Novice Gardener

  2. The chocolate drizzle is pretty! I love peanut butter in baking so I’m pretty sure these would disappear very quickly in my house. Thank you for bringing these cookies to this week’s Fiesta Friday!

  3. Pingback: Salted Chocolate-Caramel Rounds – Week 15 | thelittlebluemixer

  4. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

  5. Pingback: One Year! The Baking Challenge Recap | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

