Devil’s Food Cake – Week 14

Chocolate + Cake = Happiness

There are 13 sections in the cookbook that I am baking my way through, and I am happy to report that I have officially made at least one recipe from each section!  Woohoo!  The Baking Challenge is making progress!  As I was looking through the decorated cakes section, I saw this recipe for Devil’s Food Cake and just knew that I had to make it this week.

This was my first time making a Devil’s Food Cake from scratch.  There were a few bumps along the way, as you will soon see, but everything worked itself out in the end.  I don’t think I can dub this recipe my absolute favorite chocolate cake (what a big statement that would be!) but it was pretty scrumptious.  I have a few ideas on things I may change for next time, but for now, lets make a cake!

Devil's Food Cake | thelittlebluemixer

To start things off, I combined all of the dry ingredients except for the sugar.

Devil's Food Cake | thelittlebluemixer

In the mixer, I beat the shortening until creamy and added in the sugar and vanilla.  Next, I mixed in the eggs and then slowly added the flour mixture and water.

The photo below doesn’t do it justice, but I made quite the mess in the kitchen.  Hey, what are baking days for if you can’t get chocolate on everything in sight? 😀

Devil's Food Cake | thelittlebluemixer

Everything was going pretty good up to this point.  The batter was beautiful and tasted delicious.  Then, I ran into a little problem when the cake came out of the oven.  It stuck to the pan.  Ahhh.  I considered lining my pans with parchment paper before baking, but the recipe indicated to just grease and lightly flour the pans.  Lesson. Learned.

Devil's Food Cake | thelittlebluemixer

Don’t look too long at that picture.  Its just so sad.  But, I’m here to share what happens on my baking journey, and it just wouldn’t be fair if I hid this from you.  Although I want to.  And here’s whats worse – they both looked like that bad.

Ok, moving on from sad things.  Here is some cocoa and icing.  That’ll cheer you up. 🙂

Devil's Food Cake | thelittlebluemixer Devil's Food Cake | thelittlebluemixer

Now its time to try and fix this cake.  First, I glued the layers back together as best I could with the icing.  Then, I stacked and filled the cake.  Things are starting to look a little better…

Devil's Food Cake | thelittlebluemixer

Add a little icing on and you can hardly tell, right?

Devil's Food Cake | thelittlebluemixer

And the final product…

Devil's Food Cake | thelittlebluemixer Devil's Food Cake | thelittlebluemixer

It turned out alright!  All of that worrying for nothing.

Devil's Food Cake | thelittlebluemixer Devil's Food Cake | thelittlebluemixer

The chocolate glaze on top is made of chocolate chips, butter, whipping cream, and corn syrup.

Devil's Food Cake | thelittlebluemixer

Once the cake was cut, you could tell it had a difficult history.  But, it held together pretty well considering how torn the layers were!

Devil's Food Cake | thelittlebluemixer Devil's Food Cake | thelittlebluemixer

This cake was pretty delicious.  Its full of chocolate, how could it not be tasty!?  In fact, as I am writing this, it is sitting across the table from me.  I may just have to eat a slice in a little bit…

Y’all have a fabulous weekend!  Be sure to check out Fiesta Friday and all of the goodies that are being shared over there!

Thanks for stopping by!

25 thoughts on “Devil’s Food Cake – Week 14

  1. Pingback: Mille Crêpe Cake | Fiesta Friday #29 | The Novice Gardener

  2. I had a similar problem with the cake that I just posted about but I couldn’t patch it up because it was a ‘naked’ cake and a birthday cake, so I had to make another one! I must say that you did a marvellous job on patching it up and frosting it but what really caught my eye was how steady your hand is when you iced those straight lines!! Thanks for sharing with us and Happy Fiesta Friday!

    • Oh no! I feel your pain! I had almost convinced myself to just start over, but decided to try patching it up. Your cake came out looking great, by the way! Thank you! 🙂

  3. I love your honesty and it looked perfect after you decorated it, no one would have known the difference and I bet it tasted amazing, thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. I like the way you have walked us through the cake making journey. I go through such tense moments while decorating a cake, and it’s true- we live and learn. Beautiful product!

  5. You are indeed making progress with this cake – it looks perfectly frosted and baked. Wohoo! 😀 I may need to take more than one slice. You will allow me for two, right? 🙂 Thanks for sharing this. Have a lovely week. ❤

  6. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

  7. Pingback: One Year! The Baking Challenge Recap | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

