Campfire S’mores Bread Pudding – Week 17

Everyone loves s’mores.  They are such a fun and classic treat.  Growing up, almost anytime we went camping we would make s’mores.  Accidentally catching marshmallows on fire, sneaking extra chocolate pieces, making a sticky mess of everything – such good memories. 🙂

This week’s recipe is a fun twist on the classic s’mores treat.  I have seen lots of different s’mores-esq treats popping up on Pinterest lately.  Dips, cupcakes, cookies, brownies – just take your favorite treat and make it s’mores flavored.  Such a fun idea!  So, when I saw this recipe for S’mores Bread Pudding, I thought it sounded interesting enough to give it a try.

Campfire S'mores Bread Pudding | thelittlebluemixer

For the bread pudding, I used hot dog buns, aka Frankfurter Buns.  This may seem crazy to you, but I was not at all familiar with the term Frankfurter Buns.  I looked up the difference in ‘Frakfurter Buns’ and ‘Hot Dog Buns’, and found that one is sliced on the top and the other is sliced on the side.  Hmm, interesting.  You learn something new every day!

Campfire S'mores Bread Pudding | thelittlebluemixer

I cut the hot dog buns into about 1 inch pieces and then toasted them in the oven for a few minutes.  Once they were nice and crispy, I added them to my baking dish.

For the ‘pudding’ mixture, I combined eggs, milk, condensed milk, vanilla, and nutmeg.  The nutmeg was definitely a strong flavor and stood out in the finished dish.  If I were to make this again, I think I might tone it down a little so the other flavors can stand out.

Campfire S'mores Bread Pudding | thelittlebluemixer

Now it’s time to start adding the s’mores toppings!  I added a layer of marshmallows and chocolate chips to my baking dish, and then poured the liquid mixture over everything.

Campfire S'mores Bread Pudding | thelittlebluemixer

After the bread pudding sat for about five minutes, I added some crushed graham crackers on top and popped it in the oven.

Campfire S'mores Bread Pudding | thelittlebluemixer

And here we are!

Campfire S'mores Bread Pudding | thelittlebluemixer Campfire S'mores Bread Pudding | thelittlebluemixer

Mmm, look how tasty.

Campfire S'mores Bread Pudding | thelittlebluemixer

As we all know, more chocolate makes everything better.

Campfire S'mores Bread Pudding | thelittlebluemixer Campfire S'mores Bread Pudding | thelittlebluemixer

This dessert was pretty tasty, but it was definitely a heavy dessert, if you know what I mean.  Sooo rich.

Campfire S'mores Bread Pudding | thelittlebluemixer

This was an fun recipe to try, but I think I have decided that I much prefer the classic S’more.  🙂

Campfire S'mores Bread Pudding | thelittlebluemixerCampfire S'mores Bread Pudding | thelittlebluemixer

Y’all have a wonderful weekend and be sure to stop by Fiesta Friday to see what is going on!

Thanks for stopping by!

16 thoughts on “Campfire S’mores Bread Pudding – Week 17

  1. Pingback: Best Chili con Carne ever! (Includes vegan version) | Fiesta Friday #32 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Neither my husband nor I have ever tried s’mores! So last week my visiting daughter talked me into buying all the ingredients and I agreed to build a bonfire… but the weather was not right, and there it all is, still in my pantry, and I still don’t know what I’m missing. I will have to try this in some form or other one day – can’t have all those treats go to waste. Thanks for sharing this fun recipe.

  3. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

