Spicy Apricot and Sausage Braid – Week 20

“Oh wow.  This is really good.”  I believe those were the first words I said after tasting this bread and beckoning Brian over to try it.  The flavor really took me by surprise.  I thought this bread was going to be good, but it was so much better than I was expecting.

This bread is packed with flavor from a nice mixture of sausage, apricot, and seasonings, and it has just the right amount of heat.  Spicy Apricot and Sausage Braid, y’all.  It’s delicious!

Spicy Sausage and Apricot Bread | thelittlebluemixer

Before mixing up the dough for the bread, I needed to cook the sausage and apricot mixture.  I put the diced sausage in the pan to start browning and started chopping the apricots and cilantro.

Spicy Apricot and Sausage Bread | thelittlebluemixer

Once the sausage was browned, I added in my apricots and let them cook down for a minute.  To finish up the mix, I added some cilantro, red pepper, and honey.  I thought this was an interesting mix, but believe me, it works!  It was also beautiful, so I had to snap a few pictures. 🙂

Spicy Apricot and Sausage Bread | thelittlebluemixer Spicy Apricot and Sausage Bread | thelittlebluemixer

Now we can start on the bread!  The dough was pretty simple to whip up; I combined the yeast, salt, and part of the flour with warm water, eggs, and oil and slowly stirred until combined.  I beat the mixture on high for a few minutes and then added the sausage mixture.  To finish up, I stirred in as much of the remaining flour as I could.

Spicy Sausage and Apricot Bread | thelittlebluemixer

My dough wasn’t at the correct consistency and texture yet, so I kneaded in some more flour until it was nice and smooth.

Spicy Sausage and Apricot Bread | thelittlebluemixer

When the dough had risen to twice its original size (about an hour), I punched it down and worked it into three long ropes and braided them together.  I had never braided dough before, so this was pretty fun for me!

Spicy Sausage and Apricot Bread | thelittlebluemixer

Spicy Apricot and Sausage Bread | thelittlebluemixer

After braiding the three ropes together, the dough needed to rise one last time for about 30 minutes.  Just before putting the bread in the oven, I brushed it with an egg and water mixture so it would have a nice shine when it finished baking.

Spicy Sausage and Apricot Bread | thelittlebluemixerSpicy Sausage and Apricot Bread | thelittlebluemixer

I remember seeing breads similar to this before and thinking, “Wow. That’s impressive. I’m not sure if I could make that.”  Well, I am here to tell you that you can make this too!  It’s not all that difficult!

Spicy Sausage and Apricot Bread | thelittlebluemixer

And the flavor, well, the flavor is spot on.  I wish you all were here so I could share a slice with you!

Spicy Sausage and Apricot Bread | thelittlebluemixer Spicy Sausage and Apricot Bread | thelittlebluemixer

I hope you all have a fantastic weekend and get to enjoy some nice fall weather!  It’s been raining here for almost the last two weeks… so we are definitely looking forward to getting outside this weekend.  🙂

Oh, and happy Fiesta Friday!

22 thoughts on “Spicy Apricot and Sausage Braid – Week 20

  1. Pingback: Apple Pie | Fiesta Friday #35 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Happy Fiesta Friday, Anna! I’m so impressed with this… it is truly a work of art. The combination of flavors is fabulous… something that I never would have thought to put together…but it works. I can see that it works! I love when something so out of the ordinary comes together so well!! Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful bread with us… Awesome post! ❤

    • Aw, thank you so so much!! Haha, yes, the flavors go together really well and make the bread stand out! Although I don’t know if I would have though of the combo either if it wasn’t in the recipe.. 😀 Thanks again! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Crepas de Mole | Fiesta Friday #36 | The Novice Gardener

  4. Pingback: Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls – Week 21 | thelittlebluemixer

  5. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

