Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls – Week 21

What’s better to wake up to in the morning than warm cinnamon rolls?  Well, here is a little twist on that favorite breakfast treat.  Take away the cinnamon and sugar and sub in some honey and orange, and you have these tasty Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls!

Brian and I went camping last weekend, and I made these sweet rolls right before we left so we could have a tasty breakfast in the woods.  They were delicious!  (And in case you were wondering… the weather was perfect, and we had a blast!  I can’t wait to go back.)

Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls | thelittlebluemixerThis recipe was fairly simple.  To start off, I added the butter, milk powder, honey, eggs, wheat germ, salt, and yeast to some warm water and mixed until combined.  Then, I gradually added in flour until I reached a good consistency and kneaded in the remaining flour until my dough was no longer sticky.  See, not much to it at all!

Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls | thelittlebluemixer Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls | thelittlebluemixerAfter letting the dough rise until double in size, I made the filling for the sweet rolls.  The filling was made of orange zest, honey, and butter.  I whisked the three together until they were nice and creamy and then rolled out my dough.  If you want, you could add some raisins into your filling, but I opted to leave them out this time.

Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls | thelittlebluemixer

If you are making these or a similar cinnamon roll, make sure you remember to leave about a half inch border around the edge of your dough when adding the filling.  You don’t want to lose all of the good stuff when rolling it up!  Once it was rolled, I sealed the edge with a pinch and a dab of water.

Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls | thelittlebluemixer

A nifty trick I learned from Mom is to use dental floss (non-flavored!) or string to cut your rolls.  Just slide the string under the roll and pull up and across to make a clean cut.  This is so much easier than using a knife – no squishing the soft dough!

Once the rolls were in the pan, I let them sit and rise for about 30 more minutes before putting them in the oven.  Now we are ready to bake!

Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls | thelittlebluemixer

And here they are!

Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls | thelittlebluemixer

The tips got a little bit brown, but we will say that just adds to the flavor. 🙂

Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls | thelittlebluemixer Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls | thelittlebluemixer

I decided to cut this recipe in half, and I’m glad I did.  Although they were good, I can’t imaging having twice as many of these around the house!

Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls | thelittlebluemixerOrange-Honey Sweet Rolls | thelittlebluemixer

The icing was made of powdered sugar, orange juice, and orange zest.  It was super tasty and helped bring out the orange flavor in the rolls.

Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls | thelittlebluemixer

Overall, these were really good.  I wasn’t expecting the orange in the rolls to stand out as much as it did; they made for a nice and flavorful breakfast!

Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls | thelittlebluemixerOrange-Honey Sweet Rolls | thelittlebluemixer

Cheers to another weekend!  Hope you all have a good one, and thanks so much for taking the time to stop by!

Be sure to go visit Fiesta Friday and see everything going on this week!  A special shout out and thank you to Angie for hosting the party every week and for featuring my Spicy Apricot and Sausage Bread from last week!

22 thoughts on “Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls – Week 21

  1. What wonderful looking rolls – and a very refreshing change from cinnamon (which I adore) I could eat these anytime!! Congratulations on your feature too! Thank you for bringing this to the party – Happy Fiesta Friday!!

  2. Pingback: Crepas de Mole | Fiesta Friday #36 | The Novice Gardener

  3. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

