Milk Chocolate Cheesecake – Week 22

I knew I wanted to make a cheesecake this week, but I wasn’t quite sure what kind to attempt.  My only stipulation – chocolate needed to be involved in some way.  So, I narrowed the recipes down to Boston Creme, Milk Chocolate, and Cookie Dough.  All three sound perfect, right?  I couldn’t make a decision this big on my own, so I knew I needed to call in the big guns – aka – the hubs, personal baking consultant, taste tester, blog proof reader, and fixer of… everything.  (He’s really very helpful.)

After much serious discussion and weighing of pros and cons, we decided on Milk Chocolate.  What a good decision that was!  Man, I still can’t get over how chocolaty and delicious this cheesecake is.  I still have a few things to work on before my cheesecakes are up to par, but we are all about making progress over here at The Little Blue Mixer.  And this cheesecake, well, it is very tasty progress. 😀

Milk Chocolate Cheesecake | thelittlebluemixer

Also, let me just note… I am 22 weeks into The Baking Challenge!  That’s nearly halfway through!  What!  (If you aren’t familiar with my self-imposed baking challenge, you can learn more here!)

The first order of business for this cheesecake was to make on the crust.  I threw some almonds in the blender, crushed up some Nilla wafers, tossed in a little sugar, and mixed it all up with melted butter.

Milk Chocolate Cheesecake | thelittlebluemixer

Once everything was combined, I pressed it into the bottom of my pan and about 1 1/2 inches up the sides.  Now, this is where the crust becomes really special.  Milk chocolate…

Milk Chocolate Cheesecake | thelittlebluemixer

Isn’t that just beautiful?  Ahh.  I grated two Hershey’s bars and sprinkled them over the crust until it was covered in chocolate.  It’s the little things that take a recipe to the next level, and this is one of those special little things.  I think Brian said it best when he tried the cheesecake, “The crust may be my favorite part.  It’s like a candy bar at the bottom of the cheesecake!”

Milk Chocolate Cheesecake | thelittlebluemixer

For the filling I beat together the cream cheese, sugar, vanilla, and milk until combined.  Then, I added in a few tablespoons of flour and mixed in melted chocolate for a nice chocolatey mixture.

Milk Chocolate Cheesecake | thelittlebluemixer

To finish up, I added in some lightly beaten eggs, and we have this smooth and creamy goodness!

Milk Chocolate Cheesecake | thelittlebluemixer

I reserved about a 1/2 cup of the filling and poured the rest into my pan.  Over at the stove, I melted down some bittersweet chocolate chips and added in a little milk and the 1/2 cup of batter.  This darker chocolate is used to create a marbled look on the cheesecake!

Milk Chocolate Cheesecake | thelittlebluemixerI added the bittersweet chocolate mixture to the top of the cheesecake in large spoonfuls and used a butter knife to swirl the two mixtures together.  However, I had to try this twice before I got it right.  The first time around, my chocolate mixture was a little too thick to swirl easily into the cheesecake.  So, I spooned it back out, added a little more milk, and tried again.  Things worked much better the second time around!

Milk Chocolate Cheesecake | thelittlebluemixerMilk Chocolate Cheesecake | thelittlebluemixer

Now, lets address this lovely, giant crack through the entire cake. 😦 The last cheesecake I made (White Chocolate Cheesecake) was fairly smooth on top, but I’m not sure how I achieved those nice results.  Beginner’s luck?  I have heard that the slower the cake cools, the less likely it is to crack.  I tried to make sure my cake cooled slowly, but you can very clearly see how it came out!  Ha!  So, when you make cheesecake, does it usually crack on top?  Do you have any secrets you would be willing to share for a smooth surface?  Help!

Milk Chocolate Cheesecake | thelittlebluemixerI think next time I may just have to have a nice topping planned to cover up any cracks that decide to show up. 😉

Milk Chocolate Cheesecake | thelittlebluemixer

Milk Chocolate Cheesecake | thelittlebluemixer

Look how tasty!  And check out that nice layer of chocolate on the crust!

Milk Chocolate Cheesecake | thelittlebluemixerMilk Chocolate Cheesecake | thelittlebluemixerI may not have the beauty factor quite down on this cheesecake (I will be working on that!), but in my completely unbiased opinion, I think this cheesecake could almost rival The Cheesecake Factory.  And their cheesecake is good. 😉

Milk Chocolate Cheesecake | thelittlebluemixer

I haven’t tried baking a cheesecake in a water bath yet.  It was on my list of potential to-do’s for this week, but I just ran out of time and didn’t have an extra hour to let it bake.  Next time it is!

Thank you so much for stopping by!  I hope you all have a great day!  Go eat something sweet. 🙂

Be sure to check out the goodies over at Fiesta Friday today!

16 thoughts on “Milk Chocolate Cheesecake – Week 22

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #37 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Oh my goodness! This cake looks just to die for! I have been staring at it and drooling, thinking I would kill for a piece to go with my coffee right now! Thanks so much for bringing your decadent cake to FF! 😀

  3. Yum this looks great!!! Personally I don’t mind a few cracks, I think it makes it look rustic. But the way I stop them happening is to cool the cheesecake in the oven, once it’s baked (or about 5 mins from being baked if you’re worried about drying it out) just turn the oven off and leave it until the oven and cheesecake are completely cool. Another tip is to bake it in a bath, fill a deep roasting pan with an inch or two of water and either put the cake tin in there (if you’re sure your cake tin is leak tight (spring form pans aren’t the best for this, but push pans usually are okay) or put the roasting tin of water on the shelf below the cheesecake.

  4. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

  5. Pingback: One Year! The Baking Challenge Recap | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

