Caramel-Frosted Zucchini Bread – Week 23

I am absolutely loving all of the “Quick Breads” that are in this cookbook.  They are so simple and fast!  There was a lot going on this week, so it worked out perfectly to whip up this zucchini bread one morning before getting started on my day.

I was pleasantly surprised at how tasty this zucchini bread is.  The bread itself is delicious, and I made a quick caramel buttercream that just pushed it over the top.  We will definitely be having this again sometime soon!

Caramel-Frosted Zucchini Bread | thelittlebluemixer

The recipe is for two loafs, so I decided to cut it in half for us.  To start things off, I combined my dry ingredients in one bowl and made a well in the center.

Caramel-Frosted Zucchini Bread | thelittlebluemixer

Next, I shredded my zucchini and mixed it with the eggs, oil, sugar, and vanilla.  When I was buying the zucchini, I wasn’t sure how many I would need for the recipe.  I erred on the safe side and ended up with a few leftovers.  They turned into a delicious side with our dinner!

Caramel-Frosted Zucchini Bread | thelittlebluemixer

Once the wet ingredients were combined, I added them to my first bowl with the dry ingredients.  An important thing to remember with breads similar to this is to not over mix the batter.  So, I stirred just until everything was wet.  To finish up the batter, I chopped up a few pecans and tossed them in.  Now it’s time to bake!

Caramel-Frosted Zucchini Bread | thelittlebluemixerCaramel-Frosted Zucchini Bread | thelittlebluemixer

One of my favorite things is to walk into the kitchen and be greeted by the sweet aroma of something baking in the oven.  Mmm.  This bread smelled so delicious!

Caramel-Frosted Zucchini Bread | thelittlebluemixer Caramel-Frosted Zucchini Bread | thelittlebluemixer

The caramel icing for this recipe was super tasty.  It is an easier recipe than your traditional “real” caramel icing.  The base is from caramel ice cream sauce.  So, no need to make caramel or melt anything down!

Caramel-Frosted Zucchini Bread | thelittlebluemixer

I creamed together the caramel ice cream sauce and butter with some apple pie seasoning.  After it was well combined, I added in powdered sugar until I reached my desired consistency.  Really easy and tasty!

Caramel-Frosted Zucchini Bread | thelittlebluemixerCaramel-Frosted Zucchini Bread | thelittlebluemixerThe apple pie seasoning in the caramel icing added great flavor and worked so well with the zucchini bread.  Winning combination!

Caramel-Frosted Zucchini Bread | thelittlebluemixer

After I finished with all of my pictures, I put the bread in a container and stuck it in the fridge until we were going to eat some.  Well, the icing stuck to the lid and I had to pry it off to add it back on the bread.  It was quite the scene.  So, you have been warned – this icing is really sticky!  It still tasted delicious!  I’m just glad I had already finished photos at that point…

Caramel-Frosted Zucchini Bread | thelittlebluemixer

Despite all of the sugar and icing, I’m still calling this bread healthy.  There are veggies involved!

Caramel-Frosted Zucchini Bread | thelittlebluemixer

Ok, ok.  It may not be super healthy, but it is super delicious!  This is a perfect fall recipe!

Y’all have a fantastic weekend and thank you so much for stopping by!  Happy Fiesta Friday !

13 thoughts on “Caramel-Frosted Zucchini Bread – Week 23

  1. Pingback: The Impossible Chocoflan | Fiesta Friday #38 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

  3. Pingback: Sweet Potato Bundt Cake with Marmalade Ribbon – Louisiana Cookin’ | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

