White Chocolate Birthday Cake – Week 25

First of all, I’ll clear things up and let you know that there weren’t actually any birthdays in our house this week, contrary to the title of this post.  But, this cake screams birthday so much that I just couldn’t get away with taking “Birthday” out of the title.  Just wait ’til you see how colorful and festive it is.  Color was exploding everywhere in the kitchen by the time this cake was finished.

White chocolate also took over the kitchen this week.  There is SO much white chocolate in this cake, especially the icing, that I was a little worried I might not like it.  Now, I love chocolate – it is one of my absolute favorite things.  But, I don’t have that close of a relationship with white chocolate.  We like each other and hang out often enough, but it’s not love.  So, I was a little worried when the icing ALONE had a pound of white chocolate it in.  What!  I know, right!  But, I decided to trust the recipe, and it’s such a good thing I did.  Man oh man.  This was a tasty cake!

DSC_0006

To start off, I combined all of my dry ingredients for the cake and then went to work melting down some white chocolate.  The actual cake had about a 1/2 pound in it.

When Brian and I got married, our wedding cake flavor was white chocolate.  To be honest though, when I tasted it I just thought it was just a really good vanilla cake.  It was rich and moist, but the chocolate didn’t jump out at you.  It was like a really decadent vanilla cake.  I really enjoyed the flavor and was hoping to achieve something similar with this cake.

White Chocolate Birthday Cake | thelittlebluemixer

Once the white chocolate was melted, I went to work on the wet ingredients.  First up was creaming the butter and adding in the sugar.  After they were combined I added in my eggs one at a time followed by the vanilla.

White Chocolate Birthday Cake | thelittlebluemixer

To finish up the cake batter, I alternately added in milk and the dry ingredients until smooth and combined.  Last, I mixed in the melted white chocolate.

White Chocolate Birthday Cake | thelittlebluemixer

Now it’s time to bake!

When the cakes came out of the oven, I let them cool off while I started working on the icing.  This icing is basically a normal buttercream, but with a ton of melted white chocolate added in!  However, because of the liquidness of the chocolate, you don’t need to add any milk or water to the icing.

Halfway through making the icing, I was really hoping I hadn’t just made a mistake by using the whole pound of chocolate.  The icing was just so very chocolatey.  I was a little overwhelmed by it.  (This could have been because I had been around sugar all day.)  I forged on and kept mixing in the powdered sugar, and in the end it turned out to be delicious and not at all overwhelming.  I’m glad I didn’t decide to change routes and make my regular go-to icing!

White Chocolate Birthday Cake | thelittlebluemixer

To build the cake, I cut the two layers in half so I would have a four layer cake.  Then, I alternated stacking and icing the layers until everything was put together.

White Chocolate Birthday Cake | thelittlebluemixerI was really happy with how the layers came out on this cake!  My cakes usually bake a little uneven and I have to try and even things out with icing.  This time though, I struck gold.  My layers were just the slightest bit lopsided, but after cutting them in half things evened out.  I’m really hoping that was due to skill instead of luck.  I guess we will have to wait until the next cake to find out. 🙂

To make sure I didn’t have crumbs in my icing, I did a quick crumb coat on the whole cake and set it in the fridge to harden.  Once it was ready, I added on the rest of the icing.  Yum!

White Chocolate Birthday Cake | thelittlebluemixer

To finish up, I piped a border around the bottom and added lots of colorful streamers around the top.  Oh, and I added sprinkles. 😀

White Chocolate Birthday Cake | thelittlebluemixer White Chocolate Birthday Cake | thelittlebluemixer

This was such a fun cake to make!

White Chocolate Birthday Cake | thelittlebluemixer White Chocolate Birthday Cake | thelittlebluemixer

It tasted absolutely delicious.

White Chocolate Birthday Cake | thelittlebluemixer White Chocolate Birthday Cake | thelittlebluemixer White Chocolate Birthday Cake | thelittlebluemixer

Y’all, come over and have a slice.  It’s just so good.

White Chocolate Birthday Cake | thelittlebluemixer White Chocolate Birthday Cake | thelittlebluemixer

Like I was hoping, the cake was very moist and flavorful, but not overbearing with chocolate.  I think this cake might actually pass the test for all of you non-chocolate lovers out there.  The icing is definitely chocolatey, though.  So if you aren’t a fan, steer clear of this one and stick to regular buttercream.

We had a great week over here in Charleston, and I hope y’all did too in your different corners of the world!  Thanks so much for stopping by today.

As always, be sure to stop by Fiesta Friday and see all the fun things going on. 🙂

29 thoughts on “White Chocolate Birthday Cake – Week 25

  1. Pingback: Loaded Pumpkin Waffles | Fiesta Friday #40 | The Novice Gardener

    • Thank you! This was my first time playing around with a petal tip to make the border. I’ll be using it again! I agree they aren’t normal! But I actually know a few people who don’t like it. I wouldn’t make it without my chocolate!

  2. Pingback: Chicken Green Tomato Jalfrezi| Fiesta Friday #41 | The Novice Gardener

  3. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

  4. Pingback: One Year! The Baking Challenge Recap | thelittlebluemixer

  5. Pingback: White Chocolate Dino Cake | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

