Make-It-Mine Whoopie Pies – Week 26

This week I made whoopie pies!  This make-it-mine recipe gave me several different options for flavors and toppings for my treats, and I decided to go with chocolate pies and a cream cheese buttercream filling.  This was a really fun dessert to make, and I am inspired to come up with some new flavors for these tasty treats.  To make it even better, this recipe was so very easy!

Last weekend, Brian and I decided to take a little camping trip.  We love doing just about anything outside and thought it would be a good chance to get away for a bit before things get busy with holidays.  Little did we know the adventure that would await.  According to the weather forecast, it was supposed to be a nice sunny 55 degrees and get a little chilly at night.  Sounded like great camping weather!  Well… things didn’t really pan out like they should have.  Soon after we got our tent set up, the rain started sprinkling down.  It continued to rain all night and the majority of the next day.  Of course, the rain was kind enough to bring some nice freezing temperatures with it too.  Sigh.  But, there is a bright side to this story I am telling you… we had whoopie pies!  My friends, these things are tasty.  And, even though just about anything will taste good when you are freezing, these stood out.  Mmm.  They definitely helped brighten up my day!

Make-It-Mine Whoopie Pies | thelittlebluemixer So, let me tell you a little about this recipe.  In the recipe format, Better Homes and Gardens gave several different options for the cake mix, liquid, topping, and filling used to make the pies.  I decided to go with a chocolate cake mix (because chocolate is delicious), milk for the liquid, chocolate chips and almonds for the topping, and cream cheese buttercream for the filling. This recipe really was SO simple. Make-It-Mine Whoopie Pies | thelittlebluemixer I combined all of the ingredients for the cookies and mixed.  Wha-la.  That’s it! Make-It-Mine Whoopie Pies | thelittlebluemixer I spooned the batter onto my baking sheet and added either mini chocolate chips or sliced almonds to the top of each cookie.  Now we bake! Make-It-Mine Whoopie Pies | thelittlebluemixerI was a little off with my proportions when I was scooping out the batter for the cookies.  The cookies in the second set were much bigger than the first ones out of the oven!

Make-It-Mine Whoopie Pies | thelittlebluemixerMake-It-Mine Whoopie Pies | thelittlebluemixer

While the cookies were cooling I whipped up the buttercream.  This section of the cookbook focuses on everyday baking items that are easy to whip up in a hurry.  It recommends a lot of box mixes and canned icings that help you speed up the baking process.  I prefer the made-from-scratch method though.  I opted to make my own buttercream, since I just used a box mix for the cookies.  That evens out, right? 🙂

Once the buttercream was ready, I put together my whoopie pies!

Make-It-Mine Whoopie Pies | thelittlebluemixer Make-It-Mine Whoopie Pies | thelittlebluemixer

And here they are!
Make-It-Mine Whoopie Pies | thelittlebluemixerMake-It-Mine Whoopie Pies | thelittlebluemixerMmm, so very tasty. 🙂

Make-It-Mine Whoopie Pies | thelittlebluemixerMake-It-Mine Whoopie Pies | thelittlebluemixer

I really liked these whoopie pies.  They were just so delicious and easy to make.  I am looking forward to pulling this recipe out in the future when I am in a crunch for time!

I hope you all have a great weekend!  Thank you for coming by today!

Happy Fiesta Friday!

29 thoughts on “Make-It-Mine Whoopie Pies – Week 26

  1. Pingback: Chicken Green Tomato Jalfrezi| Fiesta Friday #41 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Anna you are an incredible writer. I can just imagine all that you are doing as you describe each step in your cooking process. I can also imagine that if we were there to help you and Brian consume these great creations, we would be voluminous.

  3. Oh my gosh, these look so utterly delicious! The look like the perfect chocolate craving remedy. 🙂 And cream cheese frosting too? Wow! Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing your recipe with the Fiesta Friday group…this one is a keeper!

  4. Welcome to Fiesta Friday and thanks so much for bringing these whoopie pies. They look just amazing, and your pictures sure make them stand out. I’ll bet the cream cheese was a good filling. Yummmmm! Enjoy your weekend 🙂

  5. Beautiful whoopie pies, Anna. Pinned. 😉
    But please make it clearer for me (my brain is somewhat scattered right now) – you followed everything on the box but used milk as your liquid? Baked at 350 or 375 F for how long? I don’t want to make mistakes and I don’t trust myself enough. 😐 Thanks, Anna.

    • Sure thing 🙂 I’m not sure if the recipe is the exact same as what will be on the box, so here you go 🙂 Combine the cake mix, 1/3 c melted butter, 2 eggs, and 1/4 c milk. Then bake for 10-12 minutes at 350! Use whatever icinig you prefer for the filling, but cream cheese was delicious! Hope you enjoy, Jhuls! Please let me know how they come out for you!

  6. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

  7. Pingback: One Year! The Baking Challenge Recap | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

