Dulce de Leche – Hazelnut – Pumpkin Pie – Week 27

Thanksgiving is almost here!  Wow.  I hardly feel like a year has past already and we are back into the holiday season.  I welcome the holidays with open arms.  This is one of my favorite times of the year.  Time spent celebrating with family and friends is so very special.  I cherish it more and more every year.

I have made my way through each section of my cookbook again, and I thought it would be appropriate to finish this round in the holiday baking section with a Pumpkin Pie!  How fitting!  Thanksgiving is just around the corner and pumpkins are just about everywhere you look.  This is definitely a twist on your traditional pumpkin pie, but I found it to be quite delicious. 🙂

Dulce de Leche Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie | thelittlebluemixerTo get started on this fancy sounding pie, I began working on the crust.  The crust was very similar to a basic pie crust recipe but with one special addition – hazelnuts!  To incorporate the hazelnuts into the crust, I tossed a few in the blender and ground until they were relatively fine.

Dulce de Leche Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie | thelittlebluemixer

In a bowl I combined flour, the ground hazelnuts, salt, and shortening.  I cut the mixture together and then slowly added ice water until all of the ingredients were wet.  Then, after a kneading the mixture a few times, it was ready to go!  The nuts definitely added to the crust and helped give it a nice texture and flavor.

Dulce de Leche Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie | thelittlebluemixer

This pie had two different fillings.  The bottom layer is a dulce de leche cream cheese filling.  Now, doesn’t that sound decadent? For the dulce de leche, I found a simple recipe online using sweetened condensed milk.  Basically, you just cook the condensed milk for a certain period of time and it turns into dulce de leche!  The recipe gave the options of oven, stovetop, and microwave for the cooking process, and I opted for microwave to save a little time.

Dulce de Leche Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie | thelittlebluemixer

It worked pretty well.  The condensed milk thickened and turned to a nice caramel color and taste.  However, it probably would have been a little more vibrantly flavored if I had cooked the condensed milk using a slower method.  Next time I will be sure to set aside time just for that!

To mix up the bottom layer for the pie, I mixed together cream cheese with some of the dulce de leche.  After it was creamy, I added in one egg and poured the mixture into the pie.  Then it went into the fridge to chill and set for about 30 minutes.

Dulce de Leche Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie | thelittlebluemixer

The top layer of the pie is made of pumpkin, evaporated milk, eggs, sugar, dulce de leche, and pumpkin pie spice.  I added all of the ingredients into a bowl and whisked together.  I poured this mixture on top of the cream cheese filling, and popped it in the oven to bake.

Dulce de Leche Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie | thelittlebluemixer

While the pie is in the oven, let me tell you about this delicious whipped cream I made to go on top!  I took a little of the dulce de leche and whipped it in the mixer until it was smooth.  Then, I slowly added in heavy whipping creme until all of the dulce de leche was combined.  I poured in the rest of the whipping creme, sped up the mixer, and watched the magic happen.  Y’all, this stuff is sooo scrumptious.

Dulce de Leche Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie | thelittlebluemixer

And here is the pie right out of the oven!

Dulce de Leche Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie | thelittlebluemixer

Put a few toasted hazelnuts on top for a nice crunch..

Dulce de Leche Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie | thelittlebluemixerDulce de Leche Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie | thelittlebluemixerDulce de Leche Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie | thelittlebluemixer

Look at these beautiful layers!

Dulce de Leche Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie | thelittlebluemixer Dulce de Leche Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie | thelittlebluemixer

Mmm.  All of the flavors in this pie worked together wonderfully.  Dulce de Leche + Hazelnut + Cream Cheese + Pumpkin = Winning Combo!

Dulce de Leche Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie | thelittlebluemixer Dulce de Leche Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie | thelittlebluemixerDulce de Leche Hazelnut Pumpkin Pie | thelittlebluemixer

This pie is the perfect fall dessert!  Mmm.  Thank you all so much for coming by today and I hope you have a fabulous weekend!  Be sure to check out Fiesta Friday to see everything going on today!

As a side note, I am officially half way through The Baking Challenge!  Be looking for an update from me soon on that exciting topic!

25 thoughts on “Dulce de Leche – Hazelnut – Pumpkin Pie – Week 27

  1. Hazelnuts are by far my favorite nut! I love this pie crust and ooooh that filling! Simply perfect for this time of year! I could use a big piece of that right now! Thanks so much for sharing! Happy Fiesta Friday! 😀

  2. Pingback: Courtesan au Chocolat | Fiesta Friday #42 | The Novice Gardener

  3. Pingback: Halfway! | thelittlebluemixer

  4. Pingback: Thanksgiving Corn Pudding (Steamed) | Fiesta Friday #43 | The Novice Gardener

Leave a Reply

