Halfway!

I am just over halfway through my self-imposed Baking Challenge!  And let me tell you, this has been such a great experience.  Baking, blogging, making new friends, sharing my creations – it has been so much fun!

When I first came up with the idea for The Baking Challenge and decided to start a blog, I was a little hesitant.  While I was excited and inspired, I was just as nervous and intimidated.  I mean, have you seen all of the talented bakers and bloggers out there!?  I am so glad I took the leap into the blogging world; it has been an absolute blast for me to share my weekly baking adventures with you.  I hope that I have inspired you, made you smile, and shown you that even when you royally mess up, you should never give up!

To all of my followers and visitors, thank you so very much for joining me on this adventure!  You bring me such joy with all of your visits, comments, and likes.  I absolutely love hearing from you on the blog, in social media, and in real life!  Truly, you brighten my day.  And, if you need a little more of The Little Blue Mixer in your life, be sure to check me out on Instagram and Pinterest too! 🙂

Now then, lets have a little re-cap of the last 6 months!

cookies

Week 1 Chocolate Chip Cookies

Week 4 Snickerdoodles

Week 15 Salted Chocolate Caramel Rounds – This was by far my favorite cookie! (This may even be my favorite thing I’ve made so far!) Cookies | thelittlebluemixer

bars & brownies

Just a bunch of chocolatey goodness right here.

Week 2 Fudgy Saucepan Brownies

Week 16 Fudge Ripple Pecan Brownies bars & brownies | thelittlebluemixer

cakes & cupcakes

Week 3 Make-it-Mine Snack Cake

Week 4 Classic Carrot Cake

Week 8 White Cupcakes – 4th of July

Week 18 Red Velvet Cupcakes – This post has had the most likes so far at 33!  Woohoo! cakes & cupcakes | thelittlebluemixer

decorated cakes

These cakes were delicious and so much fun to put together.  And I literally had to put the Devil’s Food back together..

Week 14 Devil’s Food Cake

Week 25 White Chocolate Birthday Cake decorated cakes | thelittlebluemixer

pies & tarts

Week 5 Rustic Chocolate Tart – This post has had the most comments so far at 33!  That must be my lucky number 🙂

Week 19 Sweet Glazed Cherry Pie pies & tarts | thelittlebluemixer

cheesecakes

Week 6 White Chocolate Cheesecake

Week 22 Milk Chocolate Cheesecake – This was oh my goodness delicious. cheesecakes | thelittlebluemixer

desserts

Week 7 Perfect Peach Crisp – What’s better than fresh peaches?

Week 17 Campfire S’mores Bread Pudding desserts | thelittlebluemixer

yeast & artisan breads

Week 8 White Bread

Week 20 Spicy Apricot and Sausage Braid – This is my favorite bread I have every made!  It was so flavorful and savory. yeast & artisan breads | thelittlebluemixer

quick breads

Both of these were spot on.  Mmmm.

Week 9 Banana Bread

Week 23 Caramel-Frosted Zucchini Bread quick breads | thelittlebluemixer

morning favorites

Week 10 Ham and Cheese Slab Pie – Savory

Week 21 Orange-Honey Sweet Rolls – Sweet morning favorites | thelittlebluemixer

coffee shop

Week 11 Almond Shortbread Wedges

Week 24 Raspberry Eclairs – I successfully made eclairs!  I know, I can hardly believe it too. coffee shop | thelittlebluemixer

holiday baking

Week 12 Sugar Cookies – My first successful time icing sugar cookies with royal icing!

Week 27 Dulce-de-Leche – Hazelnut – Pumpkin Pie holiday baking | thelittlebluemixer

everyday baking

Week 13 Chocolate Chip and Peanut Butter Cookies

Week 26 Make-it-Mine Whoopie Pies – So full of chocolate and sugar. Mmmm. everyday baking | thelittlebluemixer I also thought I would explain why I don’t usually publish recipes with my posts.  The quick and simple – for The Baking Challenge I am using recipes from a baking cookbook by Better Homes and Gardens.  Since these aren’t my personal recipes (and by the time I finish I would have shared a big chunk of the book) I decided to it would be best to just highly recommend this cookbook to you.  Hopefully you can still get a good idea of what is happening in the recipes that I talk about.  However, if you do have any questions about how some of these sweet treats come together, please feel free to ask me.  Hey, maybe one day I will get a sponsor from BHG and I can freely publish everything to you! (Haha! Wouldn’t that be fantastic!)

To finish up this recap post, I want to look back on just a few things I have learned and areas where I have improved!

  • My photo taking skills have definitely improved.  Exhibit 1: the above pictures!
  • Adding a little drizzle of chocolate or icing on top of your desserts will dress them up without much effort at all.
  • Always line the bottom the cake pan with parchment paper before baking.  Learned that the hard way.
  • When I start to stress in the kitchen – stop, take a deep breath, and try again.  It will work out, and the cake will be beautiful!
  • Blogging takes a lot of time!  As does baking every week!  Still working on my time management…
  • Even if a recipe looks daunting, give it a try.  You never know what will happen!

This baking challenge has made me step way out of my comfort zone in the kitchen, and I have learned so much.  Thanks for being with me along the way, and I can’t wait to see what is going to happen in the next 6 months!

Thank you, thank you, thank you for all of the love!  It means the world to me!

4 thoughts on “Halfway!

  1. Your pictures are always beautiful! A big commitment of time, both baking and blogging. Congratulations on sticking with it.

Leave a Reply

