Corn Bread – Week 29

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!  I hope you all had a fantastic day yesterday and that you were able to spend it with those you love.  Thanksgiving is such a wonderful time to reflect and remember all we have to be thankful of.  I have so very much to be thankful for.  And, I am so very happy to add you all to my list this year.  Thank you so much for following along with me.  You guys are great!

When I think of Thanksgiving food, my mind immediately goes to turkey.  Next, I think of dressing and all of the tasty side dishes.  And of course, you can’t forget all of the delicious Thanksgiving desserts.  There are just so many good foods on the table at Thanksgiving.  It was tough for me to decide what I wanted to post about this week because there were just so many options!  I finally decided it would be best to start with the basics – corn bread.  After all, you can’t have dressing without corn bread, and what would Thanksgiving dinner be without dressing!?

So, I flipped through my cookbook and sure enough found a recipe! Corn Bread This recipe is from the Quick Breads section of the book which means it is very simple.  In fact, there are only 3 steps in the book – fantastic!

To begin, I combined all of my dry ingredients in a bowl – cornmeal, flour, salt, baking powder, and sugar. Corn Bread Next step – mix together the wet ingredients.  You would think that since this is such a simple step, I wouldn’t have any issues with it.  Well… I did.

The wet ingredients were milk, melted butter, and eggs.  When I poured the melted butter (which was still warm) into the milk (which was still quite cold), this is what I got.  The butter hit the cold milk and quickly turned back to a solid state and left me with this big blob of yuckiness.  I thought I might be able to fix it by slightly warming the whole mixture – nope. Corn Bread | thelittlebluemixerSimple solution – start over!  This time I made sure the milk and butter were around the same temperature before combining and things turned out much better. 🙂 Corn Bread | thelittlebluemixerLastly, I combined the two mixtures and the corn bread was ready to bake! Corn Bread | thelittlebluemixerThe recipe noted to bake the corn bread in a regular baking pan, but I just couldn’t justify that.  Growing up, we always made our corn bread in cast iron.  I’m almost positive cast iron make corn bread taste better. 🙂 Corn Bread | thelittlebluemixerDSC_0445 While I was at the store buying ingredients, I picked up white cornmeal without really thinking about it.  Later, it dawned on me that I might not have yellow corn bread!  I was sure that it would still taste the same, but thankfully I ended with a nice yellow color. 🙂 DSC_0453Corn Bread | thelittlebluemixer Now lets see how the inside looks.. Mmm.Corn Bread | thelittlebluemixerCorn Bread | thelittlebluemixerJust look at that gorgeous golden color on the edge! Corn Bread | thelittlebluemixerAnd that perfectly crumbly texture!Corn Bread | thelittlebluemixer The corn bread turned out great, and the dressing was even better!  The nifty thing about this recipe is that since it is so basic, you can add in other spices or fillings to customize it and add a pop of flavor.

Thank you so much for coming by to visit today!  I hope you all have a fantastic weekend and don’t spend too long in line at the stores.  I think I will be avoiding Black Friday. 😀

Be sure to head over to Fiesta Friday to see some more delicious foods people shared for Thanksgiving!

11 thoughts on “Corn Bread – Week 29

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Leftovers Sandwich | Fiesta Friday #44 | The Novice Gardener

Leave a Reply

