Molasses Cutouts – Week 32

Christmas is coming!  It’s so very close, and I just can’t wait for it to be here!  Well, I would like a little more time to finish up everything that has to be done before Christmas.  I don’t know how things just pile up, but I suppose it is partially my fault… I just think of too many awesome presents/projects at the last minute and want to finish them all! 😀

Anyways, a few months ago when I was looking through my book, I saw these Molasses Cutouts and knew that I had to make them for Christmas.  There were just so festive!  This recipe somewhat similar to a gingerbread recipe, but it has no ginger.  Instead, the flavor comes from a tasty amount of nutmeg and molasses.  Mmm.  The cookies are soft when you bite into them and they are full of flavor.

Molasses Cookies | thelittlebluemixer

To start things off, I beat the shortening for a short while and then added the sugar, nutmeg, baking powder and salt.  It was recommended to use freshly grated nutmeg, but I took the easy way out and used ground nutmeg.  From what I read, though, fresh nutmeg is absolutely delicious. Molasses Cookies | thelittlebluemixer

Next, I added in the egg, molasses, and vinegar and everything turned to this beautiful color.Molasses Cookies | thelittlebluemixerLast up, I mixed in the flour.  After slowly beating the flour into the mixture, I divided the dough in half and put it in the fridge to chill for a few hours. Molasses Cookies | thelittlebluemixerWhen the dough was ready, I rolled it out on the counter and went to work cutting out my cute little gingerbread men.  Also, as was expected, I made a huge mess in the kitchen.  There was flour EVERYWHERE. 😀Molasses Cookies | thelittlebluemixerI decided to go with two different sizes of the same shape gingerbread man.  Here is the big fellow below. 🙂Molasses Cookies | thelittlebluemixer Molasses Cookies | thelittlebluemixerFor the icing, I chose to use royal icing.  For the colors, I was aiming for red and white, but my red ended up more on the pink side of the spectrum so I just went with it.

Molasses Cookies | thelittlebluemixer Molasses Cookies | thelittlebluemixer

For the designs, I had some inspiration from the cute gingerbread men in my cookbook, and then I just went to town making them my own.  Just look at this little fellow with the bow tie.  He’s stylin. Molasses Cookies | thelittlebluemixer

And of course, you have to have the traditional style.  Molasses Cookies | thelittlebluemixerMolasses Cookies | thelittlebluemixerDon’t tell the others, but this one with the overalls is my favorite. 🙂DSC_0309Thank you so much for coming by the blog!  I hope you all have a great weekend and don’t worry overly much about all of the stresses of the season.  Instead, take a breath, have a cookie, and dwell on the true meaning of this wonderful Christmas season.

Luke 2:10-11 “And the angel said to them, “Fear not, for behold, I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people.  For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord.”

If you have a minute, swing by Fiesta Friday to see what is going on this week at the party!

13 thoughts on “Molasses Cutouts – Week 32

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #47 | The Novice Gardener

Leave a Reply

