Classic Sugar Cookies – Week 34

Christmas break is my favorite.  It’s so very refreshing to take a break from the norm.  This year we went home to spend some time with my family, and I was definitely not ready to leave!  How about we all just stay on vacation forever?  Ah, if only.

As I am sure I have mentioned before, desserts are a big part of the holidays for our family.  There is always some sort of pie, cake, candy, or cookie to be had.  The last few years I have started making sugar cookies, and it has been both delicious and fun.  In addition to cutout sugar cookies, I made these classic sugar cookies this year.  I’m pretty sure they were a big hit, so I’ll have to be sure to bring them back next year!

Classic Sugar Cookies | thelittlebluemixer(I just realized I’m missing a few items in my ingredient picture… Oops! :))

We didn’t have many plans one morning, so I started off my day in the kitchen whipping these up.  This is a fairly simple recipe, and I was pleased to find that the whole process didn’t take very long.  To start off, I beat together the butter and shortening.

Classic Sugar Cookies | thelittlebluemixer

Next I added in the sugar, baking soda, salt, and cream of tarter.Classic Sugar Cookies | thelittlebluemixer

Then, I beat in 3 egg yolks and the vanilla.Classic Sugar Cookies | thelittlebluemixer

To finish up the dough, I slowly mixed in the flour.Classic Sugar Cookies | thelittlebluemixer

If you are making cutout sugar cookies, the recipe will be slightly different and you will chill the dough for a few hours when you get to this point.  A perk to these cookies is that they don’t need to be chilled at all.  I rolled the dough into 1-inch balls, and it was ready to go in the oven!Classic Sugar Cookies | thelittlebluemixer Classic Sugar Cookies | thelittlebluemixer

As soon as some of the cookies came out of the oven, I sprinkled a little sugar on top for a little flourish.Classic Sugar Cookies | thelittlebluemixer Classic Sugar Cookies | thelittlebluemixerThis recipe was so easy and tasty that I will definitely be making these again soon.  The sugar cookies just melted away in your mouth. Mmm.Classic Sugar Cookies | thelittlebluemixer Classic Sugar Cookies | thelittlebluemixer Classic Sugar Cookies | thelittlebluemixer

In other news, I got some fun new baking items for Christmas that I am super excited about trying out.  Stay tuned for an update on that in the next few weeks!Classic Sugar Cookies | thelittlebluemixer

Thanks so much for coming by today, and I hope you are all having a fantastic weekend!

I’m a little late to the party, but I will be linking this post to Fiesta Friday. Go check it out!

11 thoughts on “Classic Sugar Cookies – Week 34

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #49 | The Novice Gardener

  2. These look delicious. I’m especially impressed by your photography, even the dough balls are picturesque. Thank you so much for bringing these to Fiesta Friday; I’m sure they will be eaten up quickly!

  3. Pingback: Apple Maple Sugar Cookies | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

