Hot Cocoa Soufflé with Coffee Ice Cream – Week 36

Soufflé.  Now, doesn’t that sound both fancy and delicately delicious?  I think so too!  Especially Hot Cocoa Soufflé with Coffee Ice Cream.

I’m not the biggest fan of coffee, but I will partake occasionally in the right setting.  (Think a fancy frappichino or in baked goods.)  I am a fan of a nice steaming cup of hot chocolate.  Mmm.  Another thing  – both coffee and hot chocolate are especially good at warming up freezing hands on cold winter days.  I may have to start drinking coffee in the mornings just so I have a hot mug to warm my hands.  Anyways, this week these two popular flavors come together to create a wonderful winter soufflé. 🙂

This was my first experience making a soufflé, and it was quite fun.  I don’t think I have ever described a dessert as fluffy before, but I am almost tempted to call this dessert fluffy.  It was just oh-so-light and chocolatey.  When I first took a bite, it didn’t come across quite as rich as I had expected.  But, pairing the hot cocoa soufflé with creamy coffee ice cream was a spot-on combination of flavors. DSC_0002The first thing I did was separate my egg yolks and egg whites so they would be ready when I needed them later.  To finish my bit of prep work I found a dish to bake the soufflé in and buttered the bottom and sides.  After coating it with a mixture of sugar and cocoa, we are ready to start baking this soufflé!

Hot Cocoa Souffle with Coffee Ice Cream | thelittlebluemixerI melted some butter in my saucepan and then stirred in sugar, cocoa powder, and flour.  Once these ingredients were combined, I poured in a cup of milk.  I cooked the mixture over medium heat until it was nice and thick.

Hot Cocoa Souffle with Coffee Ice Cream | thelittlebluemixerHot Cocoa Souffle with Coffee Ice Cream | thelittlebluemixerNow I needed to combine this delicious fudgy mixture with my egg yolks.  This process can be a little tricky since the chocolate mixture is still quite hot; you don’t want to accidentally cook the eggs so fast that they solidify.  After making sure my yolks were at room temperature, I stirred in about 1/2 cup of the chocolate.  I slowly added the rest of the chocolate to the eggs until everything was combined.

Hot Cocoa Souffle with Coffee Ice Cream | thelittlebluemixerTime to work on the egg whites; the reason for such a nice and fluffy soufflé! 🙂 In my handy dandy mixer, I whipped the egg whites until soft peaks formed and then added in a little sugar.  I beat the mixture again until the peaks were stiff. Hot Cocoa Soufflé with Coffee Ice Cream | thelittlebluemixer

I carefully folded about a cup of the egg whites into the chocolate mixture.  Then, I poured the chocolate mixture into my bowl of egg whites and folded everything together.  Lots of back and forth today!

Hot Cocoa Souffle with Coffee Ice Cream | thelittlebluemixerThis soufflé is ready to go in the oven!

And…. here it is right out of the oven.  Just look how perfect and cracked and chocolate it is.

Hot Cocoa Souffle with Coffee Ice Cream | thelittlebluemixerSprinkle some cocoa and sugar on top…

DSC_0143When the soufflé sank back down a bit it still looked just as beautiful.  Sigh.

Hot Cocoa Souffle with Coffee Ice Cream | thelittlebluemixer Hot Cocoa Souffle with Coffee Ice Cream | thelittlebluemixerI was trying to think of the dessert that this soufflé reminded me of when I finally realized it was the Rustic Chocolate Tart I made a few months back!  The flavors were quite similar, but I think it was the texture that came from folding in the egg whites that really brought the two together for me.

Hot Cocoa Souffle with Coffee Ice Cream | thelittlebluemixer Hot Cocoa Souffle with Coffee Ice Cream | thelittlebluemixerAnd here is that tasty ice cream I was telling you about…

Hot Cocoa Souffle with Coffee Ice Cream | thelittlebluemixerWould you like a bite? 🙂 Mmm.  So good.

Hot Cocoa Souffle with Coffee Ice Cream | thelittlebluemixerThanks so much for stopping by the blog today!  You’re the best!

Have a great weekend and go check out Fiesta Friday too!

14 thoughts on “Hot Cocoa Soufflé with Coffee Ice Cream – Week 36

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #51 | The Novice Gardener

Leave a Reply

