Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries – Week 38

Family came in town last weekend, so I wanted to make sure I baked something extra special for the occasion.  Brian’s family is especially keen on coffee, so I decided to go with this rich and creamy coffee accented chocolate cheesecake.  Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake.  Mmmmm.  The cheesecake was delicious, and we all had such a great time together.  I definitely wasn’t ready for the weekend to end.  Time flies when you are having fun!

Really though, this cheesecake was spot-on, oh-my-goodness delicious.  As we all know, coffee and chocolate are great paired together.  Add some cream cheese in the mix and you have yourself a show stopper.  I was pretty sad when we got to the last slice of this delicious dessert.  I guess I’ll just have to make it again sometime soon.  Who wants to come visit so I have an excuse to make this again? 🙂 Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries | thelittlebluemixer I started off with making the crust for this delicious cheesecake.  The crust is simply crushed oreos and melted butter.  I didn’t realize until after I started working on it that the recipe didn’t necessarily intend for me to use oreos… Instead, it called for chocolate wafers.  After only using about 15 oreos to get the amount of crumbs needed instead of 30-ish wafers I realized something was up.  Opps!  I’m calling this an improvement to the recipe and moving right along. Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries | thelittlebluemixer Once I crushed the oreos (blenders do wonders for this), I stirred in some melted butter and pressed the mixture into the bottom of my pan.  That’s a good start for a cheesecake.  Oreos + Butter.

While I was working on the filling, I put the crust in the fridge to get firm. Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries | thelittlebluemixer To start on the filling, I melted some semi-sweet chocolate chips with a little bit of unsweetened chocolate.  Once the mixture was nice and smooth, I removed it from the heat and let it cool slightly. Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries | thelittlebluemixer Using my little blue mixer, I beat the cream cheese for a few seconds until it was creamy.  Then I mixed in some sugar, vanilla, and a little flour.Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries | thelittlebluemixer Next is the most exciting part – chocolate!  I slowly poured in the melted chocolate while mixing until I had this gorgeous mixture. Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries | thelittlebluemixer I lightly beat the eggs with a fork and then mixed them into the chocolate filling.Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries | thelittlebluemixerFor the mocha part of the cheesecake, I dissolved some instant coffee crystals in milk and then poured the liquid in.  And, of course, we can’t forget the chocolate chips!Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries | thelittlebluemixer Once everything was mixed together, I poured the filling into my pan, sprinkled a few more chocolate chips on top, and put it in the oven to bake!

Mmm… just look how tasty.

Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries | thelittlebluemixer Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries | thelittlebluemixer

Add a few strawberries on top. 🙂  Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries | thelittlebluemixerSo, funny thing about the strawberries… After I finished up with my pictures, I cut up the strawberries and put them in the fridge so they would be ready when we ate the cheesecake.  Well, when that time finally rolled around, I completely forgot about them.  Du Dun Dunn.  Sadly, no one had strawberries with their cheesecake. 😦  Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries | thelittlebluemixer Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries | thelittlebluemixer

That was ok with me though.  I mean, this cheesecake didn’t really need anything else to dress it up.  It was SO good.
Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries | thelittlebluemixer

Rich. Creamy. Chocolatey. Goodness. Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries | thelittlebluemixerMocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries | thelittlebluemixer

I’ll have another slice, please! 🙂

Thank y’all so much for stopping by today!  The one year anniversary party is still going on over at Fiesta Friday, so I’m headed over there now to share this tasty cheesecake!

26 thoughts on “Mocha-Chocolate Chip Cheesecake with Strawberries – Week 38

  1. Pingback: First Fiesta Friday Anniversary (Part 2) | The Novice Gardener

  2. If I had to pick a favorite dessert, cheesecake would be at the top of the list. I make them quite often, yet for some unknown reason…I’ve never made a chocolate one. Thanks to this delicious post, I think it’s time…as soon as possible! This looks absolutely decadent. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your recipe with all of us at Fiesta Friday!

  3. Oreo, chocolates, cheesecake – do you have anything more that could kill me on the spot? 😀 This cake is so tempting and it’s telling me to eat more than two slices. So let me ask you, Anna – did you bring more? 😛

Leave a Reply

