Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream – Week 41

This week, I wanted cake.  More specifically, I wanted the buttercream that goes on the cake.  So, all I needed to do was find some vessel for the buttercream.  This yellow cake recipe worked out perfectly.  And the buttercream, well, it’s spot on. 🙂

There is just something about icing a cake.  I don’t make cakes all that often, but if I had more excuses to, you might not be able to get me out of the kitchen.  Oh sure, they can be tricky and frustrating at times, especially when they want to do things their own way; but, there is also something about icing cakes that is relaxing and exciting all at the same time.  I never know exactly how the cake will come out in the end, but by the time it’s finished I have a thousand new ideas for next time.  So, I think I need to more reasons to bake cake.

Oh, I just remembered… then there is the part where you get to eat the cake.  I don’t mind that at all.

Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixer

To get started on this yellow cake, I beat the butter until it was nice and creamy and then added in the granulated sugar.  After adding the sugar, I beat the mixture for a few minutes to make sure it was well incorporated.

Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixer

Next, I beat in the eggs one at a time followed by the vanilla extract.

Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixer

For the final step on the batter, I alternated adding in milk and a mixture of flour, baking powder, and salt.

Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixer

When the batter was finished, I poured it into two round cake pans and popped them in the oven to bake.  I made the cake one night and then made the buttercream/iced the cake the next day.  It worked out pretty well for me, especially since I didn’t have a big chunk of time to devote to baking on one day.

Anyways… take a look at this delicious mess.Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixer

I just love buttercream.  And butter.  Butter is great.  It’s a wonder I haven’t gained a ton of weight while doing this baking challenge. 😀

Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixer

For the assembly of the cake, I trimmed the tops of the layers to be even and then started layering and icing.  I knew I wanted to pipe the icing onto the cake, so I made sure that my “dirty ice” layer was a little thicker than normal to give me a good starting point.

Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixer

My inspiration for this cake was found through Instagram.  I happened upon the page for Iven Oven one day and was completely amazed.  I’m not sure how long I sat there scrolling through her feed just staring at all of the beautiful cakes.  Seriously.  Her cakes are absolutely gorgeous.  You should definitely check it out her Instagram account.  You won’t be sorry!

So, here it is!

Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixerYellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixer

Chocolate goodness.

Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixer Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixer Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixer

This post may be a bit of a photo overload.  I do apologize, but I didn’t have any other option!  This cake just wanted to show itself off. Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixerYellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixerYellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixer

Mmm 🙂 I was so happy with this cake!

Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixer Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixer

Come on over and have a slice, there’s still a little bit left!

Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixer Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream | thelittlebluemixerThanks so much for stopping by today!  I hope that you love this fantastic cake + buttercream combo as much as I do!

Be sure to stop by Fiesta Friday to see whats cooking!

41 thoughts on “Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream – Week 41

  1. Please give me a tutorial on your piping skills. Mine are abysmal and you just make it look so EASY. Don’t be sorry for posting all those pics either- pass em on, I say. You worked hard and deserve to show it off lol

    Yellow cake and chocolate frosting- my favorite layer cake ever. You hit this one outta the park. Great work 🙂

    • Thank you SO much, Jess! I’ll have to see if I can put some type of tutorial together sometime. That would be lots of fun! I am definitely no expert though!!

      You’ve just brightened my day! Thank you! 🙂

  2. Oh my, this cake looks amazing! It must have taken hours to decorate it like that. You surely are very talented when it comes to cake decoration. 🙂 I’m in love with this cake and wouldn’t mind a slice now that I heard there’s still some left. 🙂
    Happy Fiesta Friday.

  3. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #56 | The Novice Gardener

  4. Tell me honestly, Anna – is there a time that you didn’t want a cake?? 😀
    You should teach me on decorating cake because I suck at it. 😐 This is so beautiful and so divine. Yum! 😀 Happy FF.

    • Hmmm… no! I always want cake! Especially if there is chocolate involved. 🙂 Haha! I don’t believe that for one second, but thank you so much! Just look at all of the delicious and beautiful food you post! Mmm. 🙂

  5. Yellow cake with chocolate buttercream is my all time favorite cake, and can I just say WOW yours is gorgeous!! I don’t blame you one bit for all the photos… they’re fantastic 😀 I’m impressed with your decorating skills!

  6. Pingback: Yellow Cake with Chocolate Buttercream – Week 41 | homethoughtsfromabroad626

  7. Pingback: February Favourites | Sarah's Kitchen

  8. Pingback: One Year! The Baking Challenge Recap | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

