Salted Almond Praline Tart – Week 44

Let me just tell you, this tart is good.  I was trying to come up with all of these great big adjectives to describe just how smooth and creamy and rich and flavorful it truly is, but I kept coming back to “It’s just really good!”  Now, I don’t mean good as in the way you describe your day to a passerby when it really wasn’t great at all.  I mean good as in the first day of summer, sleeping in on the weekends, and seeing your best friend for the first time in months.  Really and truly good.

This dessert started off with a fun trip across town looking for the perfect tart pan.  After a few stops, we ended up at Williams-Sonoma.  (I could spend way too much time and money in there.)  They had re-done the layout of the store since the last time we stopped by and all of the baking items were now in the back.  I’m certain they did this on purpose just to distract me as I walked throughout the store.  I did successfully leave with only the pan, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t add a few items to my kitchen/baking wish list. 😀 Salted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixer There were several steps involved in making this tart – crust, filling, praline, and whipped cream.  First up was the crust, which is made of graham crackers, sugar, toasted almonds, and butter.  I added the first three ingredients into my blender and went to town until all was finely ground.  Then, I added in the softened butter and mixed it together. Salted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixer It felt like I had an awful lot of crumbs for the crust, so I double checked the recipe several times to make sure I was on track.  Everything was correct, so I poured the crumbs into the pan and began pressing them into the bottom and up the sides.  Into the oven it goes. Salted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixerIn the end, I opted to not use all of the crumbs for the crust.  I just seemed like so much!  The crust had great flavor, but it didn’t hold together as well as I thought it should have. (As you will see later.) Next time I will use a tad more butter and take out a few graham crackers.   Salted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixer Now, on to the filling!

On the stovetop I melted together white baking chocolate and a block of cream cheese.  (Can you already tell why this tart was so tasty?)  When the mixture was smooth, I moved it off of the heat and headed over to my mixer.  I beat together another half block of cream cheese with some sugar and then poured in the melted mixture from the stove. Salted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixer We’re not quite done yet!  I mixed in some sour cream and almond extract followed shortly by the eggs.Salted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixer Once the filling was ready, I poured it into the crust and set it in the oven to bake.

While the tart was baking, I worked on the salted almond praline.  Everything that made up this tart was delicious, but the praline was like a shining star on top.  It was so full of flavor and easy to make!  I’m already making plans to use this in other recipes.

To make the praline, I combined almonds, sugar, butter, water, cinnamon, and sea salt in a small bowl and stirred together.  When it was well incorporated, I pressed it into the bottom of a foil lined pan and baked for about 20 minutes. Salted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixer Ta-da! Salted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixerOk.  Three down, one to go.  For the whipped cream (which I didn’t take any photos of, sorry!) I beat heavy whipping cream, sugar, and vanilla until stiff peaks formed.  So easy and tasty!Salted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixerSalted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixer To be completely honest… I almost didn’t make the whipped cream.  But, I made a last minute decision to whip some up because I thought it would look good in the photos. 😀 Now, though, I’m glad I made it for the added deliciousness.  The whipped cream really helped to even out the saltiness of the praline and went perfectly with the creamy white chocolate/cream cheese tart.  Mmm.  So many good flavors going on here.Salted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixerSalted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixerSalted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixer This tart was great.  I think I am raving so because it really surpassed my expectations.  I thought it would be good, but I didn’t think it would be this good.  You know what I mean.  🙂 Salted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixerSalted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixer And, because I think you all are so great, I found this recipe online and brought it here to share with you! 😀 Woohoo!

Better Homes and Gardens Salted Almond Praline Tart Salted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixerSalted Almond Praline Tart | the little blue mixerThank you so much for coming by the blog today!

I will be partying over at Fiesta Friday, so be sure to stop by later!

19 thoughts on “Salted Almond Praline Tart – Week 44

  1. This looks beautiful and yummy! Melting the butter may help with the crumbly crust. Oh and if I ever have too much crumb for the crust, I make a mini tart in a mini tart shell. I like to consider it the baker’s test sample! Hehe

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #59 | The Novice Gardener

  3. White chocolate, butter, cream cheese… it sounds and looks already awesome, and the result is perfect tart! 🙂
    I’m really glad you brought it to FF!
    Have a great weekend!
    Mila

Leave a Reply

