Gooey Mixed Nut Bars – Week 47

Ok, I’ll go ahead and let you know that these bars may not be the prettiest food you have ever seen.  Are they tasty though?  Mmm, yes.  They are indeed.

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked these mixed nut bars.  To get an idea of just how delicious and gooey they were, imagine a pecan pie in the shape of brownies with a slightly thicker and sweeter crust than pie.  Oh, and add lots and lots of nuts.  Doesn’t that just sound great?  Want to know what makes them even better?  They were so very simple to make! Gooey Mixed Nut Bars | the little blue mixerTo start off, I worked on the crust.  You are really going to like how simple this is – yellow cake mix and butter.  That’s it.  After blending the room temperature butter into the cake mix with a pastry blender, I pressed the crust into the bottom of my 9×13 pan. Gooey Mixed Nut Bars | the little blue mixer Gooey Mixed Nut Bars | the little blue mixer While the crust was baking, I whipped up the filling for the bars.  The filling is made of eggs, brown sugar, corn syrup, melted butter, cinnamon, & vanilla. Gooey Mixed Nut Bars | the little blue mixerAfter stirring all of the ingredients together, it was time to add in the nuts.  I used a generic brand of salted mixed nuts and they worked great.  A little coarse chopping and they are ready to be stirred into the filling. Gooey Mixed Nut Bars | the little blue mixer Gooey Mixed Nut Bars | the little blue mixer Finally, I poured the gooey filling on top of the crust and put it back in the oven to bake.

Gooey Mixed Nut Bars | the little blue mixer Gooey Mixed Nut Bars | the little blue mixer

I thought it was goofy how the nuts were more visible on the left side than on the right, especially before I cut into the bars.  Don’t worry though, there are plenty of nuts throughout!

Gooey Mixed Nut Bars | the little blue mixer Gooey Mixed Nut Bars | the little blue mixerI wasn’t really sure what to expect out of these bars.  I thought they would be good, but I wasn’t really sure what flavors to expect – slightly savory or sweet?  Well, they are sweet!  But not overly so.  I think they have a great balance in flavor and there is lots of great texture if you are a fan of that.

Gooey Mixed Nut Bars | the little blue mixerGooey Mixed Nut Bars | the little blue mixer

Just so gooey and delicious.

Gooey Mixed Nut Bars | the little blue mixerI think one of the best things that has come from The Baking Challenge is the out-of-my-comfort-zone recipes that I have been able to try.  A year ago, this would not have been my first choice for a dessert.  In my mind, dessert always had to have at least some chocolate in it!  Although I still think that is a grand philosophy, it has been so great to expand my baking horizons and try some new and fun recipes. 🙂

Gooey Mixed Nut Bars | the little blue mixer Gooey Mixed Nut Bars | the little blue mixer

Thank you all for stopping by the blog and I hope you enjoy these treats!  Have a fantastic weekend & see you over at Fiesta Friday!

6 thoughts on “Gooey Mixed Nut Bars – Week 47

  1. It’s ridiculous how amazing these bars are. I so wish I could reach through the screen and just pig out on these…but it’s probably for the best that I can’t. Thanks for bringing these to the party 😀

Leave a Reply

