Salted Caramel Pots de Creme – Week 48

Salted Caramel Pots de Creme – intrigued?  You should be. 🙂 These were delicious.  If you are even a small fan of caramel, you are most definitely a fan of this dessert.  Just imagine the smoothest, richest, creamiest caramel you have ever tasted and you will have a good idea of how delightful this dessert is.

Mom and Dad came to visit last weekend and we had a blast.  We traveled all over the city looking at old houses, new spring flowers, and eating too much food.  An added bonus – it was Mom’s birthday!  Before they came to visit, I told Mom to go ahead and pick out what dessert she would like for her birthday.  Thinking the normal way I do, I thought she would choose a cake. 😉 Well, she surprised me and picked these Salted Caramel Pots de Creme!  I’m really glad she chose them, and I’m pretty certain she was happy with the result!  Happy, Happy Birthday, Mom!

Salted Caramel Pots de Creme | the little blue mixer

This dessert had very few ingredients, which I think is fascinating.  I just love seeing what can come together when you take a few different things and stir them all together.  (There is a little bit more to it than that, but you get what I mean, right?)

To begin, I slowly heated a combination of water and sugar over low heat until all of the sugar crystals were dissolved.  Once this happened, I turned up the heat a bit and let the mixture begin to boil.  The recipe instructed to let it boil for about 9 minute or until it turned an amber color.

Salted Caramel Pots de Creme | the little blue mixer

I ran into a bit of a problem the first time around…. I burned it.  One second the sugar looked amber and the next it was black.  Let me tell you, burned sugar does NOT smell good.  After opening the windows, turning on all of the fans, and making sure the smoke alarm wasn’t going to go off, I set out to try one more time.  I watched the boiling pot much more closely this time and pulled it off the stove around 7ish minutes with a nice amber color.  Whew.  Hard part done!

Salted Caramel Pots de Creme | the little blue mixer

Next, I whisked a mixture of heavy whipping cream and milk into the sugar.  The recipe actually called for whole milk, but I don’t think I even noticed the difference in using regular.  It was plenty rich!

Salted Caramel Pots de Creme | the little blue mixer

Finally, I beat 6 egg yolks together and then whisked in the caramel mixture.  I poured the mixture through a sieve to filter out any clumps and then separated it into my small glass dishes.

Salted Caramel Pots de Creme | the little blue mixer

This was my first time to bake something in a water bath, and it worked pretty well!  I think the biggest challenge was taking the pans out of the oven after they finished baking.

After chilling for about 4 hours, they were ready to go!

Salted Caramel Pots de Creme | the little blue mixer

Before serving the caramel, I sprinkled a little bit of sea salt on top for some added flavor.  Salt and caramel really is a great combo.  I’m not sure who put those two together first, but thank you!

Salted Caramel Pots de Creme | the little blue mixerSalted Caramel Pots de Creme | the little blue mixer

This sweet custard was oh so creamy.  I think I am definitely going to try baking my next cheesecake in a water bath to see how it affects the finished texture.Salted Caramel Pots de Creme | the little blue mixer Salted Caramel Pots de Creme | the little blue mixer

I feel like this is one of those fancy desserts that you entertain with at a tea party or luncheon.  If I ever host one I may have to pull this trick out of my bag. 😉

Salted Caramel Pots de Creme | the little blue mixer Salted Caramel Pots de Creme | the little blue mixer

Mmm.. This was just so scrumptious. Salted Caramel Pots de Creme | the little blue mixer Salted Caramel Pots de Creme | the little blue mixer

Thanks for stopping by the blog today, and I hope you enjoyed these Salted Caramel Pots de Creme!  I recommend you trying them out!  You can find the recipe here on the Better Homes and Gardens website.

Y’all have a great weekend and you can check out this and lots of other great posts over at Fiesta Friday!  I’ll just be over here thinking of what I can bake next. 🙂

12 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Pots de Creme – Week 48

    • This sweet and salty combo was spot on! No, I didn’t, but I have seen some recipes that say to either broil or use a torch to finish up. They did brown and thicken a little on top, as you can see in some of the photos, but that was just from regular baking. 🙂

  1. This indeed is a beautiful recipe. These little Pots de Creme were simply delicious!!! Thank you for a wonderful birthday treat!

Leave a Reply

