Giant Ginger Cookies – Week 49

Around the Christmas holidays I had grand plans for making all sorts of baked goods.  But, as usually happens, I ended up being pretty busy. 😀 l was able to try out most of the tasty treats on my list, but these cookies were unfortunately pushed to the wayside.  I didn’t completely forget about them, though.  Last weekend I had a craving for cookies, so I decided to give this recipe a go!

I don’t believe I had ever had ginger cookies before this.  I have had gingerbread cookies… but not ginger cookies.  After baking this batch, I have come to the conclusion that ginger cookies are to gingerbread cookies as classic sugar cookies are to cutout sugar cookies.  It all makes sense now!  They share the same flavors, but have different textures and processes for baking.  However, both are quite delicious.

Giant Ginger Cookies | the little blue mixer

To begin, I beat the shortening by itself for about 30 seconds to soften it up.  After gradually added in the granulated sugar, I mixed in the eggs.

Giant Ginger Cookies | the little blue mixer

Now for adding some of the flavors to these cookies.  I poured in a half cup of molasses and watched as the mixture quickly changed colors.

Giant Ginger Cookies | the little blue mixer

Next, I combined the flour and spices together and then slowly mixed it into the dough.

Giant Ginger Cookies | the little blue mixer

When I am baking cookies, I usually use about a tablespoon worth of dough per cookie.  That was not the case with this batch.  Just like the title of this post says, these cookies were giant.  I used a 1/4 cup of dough for each of these cookies.  That’s a lot!

Giant Ginger Cookies | the little blue mixer

After rolling each ball of cookie dough in sugar and placing it on the baking pan, I set them in the oven to bake.

And here they are!

Giant Ginger Cookies | the little blue mixer Giant Ginger Cookies | the little blue mixerGiant Ginger Cookies | the little blue mixer

I have tried to make “big” cookies before, but they never came out quite as big as I expected them to be.  I may just start making all of my cookies super sized now though. 🙂

Giant Ginger Cookies | the little blue mixer Giant Ginger Cookies | the little blue mixer

Mmm

Giant Ginger Cookies | the little blue mixer Giant Ginger Cookies | the little blue mixer Giant Ginger Cookies | the little blue mixer

These cookies were just perfect – slightly crunchy around the edges and soft and chewy in the middle.

Giant Ginger Cookies | the little blue mixer Giant Ginger Cookies | the little blue mixer Giant Ginger Cookies | the little blue mixer

Ginger cookies are one of my husband’s favorites (yep, he’s the one who requested these originally) and he approved of this recipe, so I am counting it as a win!

Thank you all for stopping by today!  I hope that you have a fantastic, rain-free weekend! (Because that is what I am hoping for, although I doubt it will happen 😀 )

If you are in the mood for more fun, head over to Fiesta Friday to check out some awesome blogs & bloggers!

7 thoughts on “Giant Ginger Cookies – Week 49

  1. Pingback: Giant Ginger Cookies – Week 49 | homethoughtsfromabroad626

Leave a Reply

