Double Chocolate French Silk Pie – Week 50

French Silk Pie has always been one of my favorite desserts.  Mom would always make one for either Thanksgiving or Christmas and it was always (and still is) my go-to dessert.  I’m so serious.  If there is a french silk pie around, you will be hard pressed to find me choosing any other dessert over it.  Rich, creamy, chocolaty… Mmm.  Just perfect.

When I saw that Better Homes and Gardens had their own take on a French Silk Pie, I knew I would have to try it out.  There’s just no passing that opportunity up.  The recipe was actually for a triple chocolate pie, and as you can see from the title of this post, I made a double chocolate pie… Yea.  So, there were some interesting moments throughout the process, but we all got through it just fine.  More on that later on in the post.  All you need to know right now is that this pie was delicious, and I kind of wish I hadn’t given so much of it away. 😀 Ok, ok.  I’m glad I shared, but I would really like another slice.

Double Chocolate French Silk Pie | the little blue mixer

First things first, I made the crust for the pie.  This is a pretty standard crust recipe – cut together flour, salt, butter, shortening and then slowly pour in ice water until the mixture is wet.  Once the dough is wet, knead it into a ball and then roll it out on a floured surface.  And wha-la, we have a pie crust!

Double Chocolate French Silk Pie | the little blue mixer

The crust was the only part of the pie that actually needed to bake, so I put it in the oven while I worked on the base layer of the pie.  To start, I melted down some bittersweet chocolate and then set it to the side to cool.

Next, I creamed together butter and sugar until it was nice and fluffy.  To get the mixture fluffy, you will have to beat it a little while longer than you normally would for a cake or batch of cookies.  The recipe suggested about four minutes.

Double Chocolate French Silk Pie | the little blue mixerWhen the sugar and butter were creamed, I mixed in the melted chocolate.  Mmm.

Double Chocolate French Silk Pie | the little blue mixerThis part was a little bit strange for me, so be prepared.  I mixed in vanilla (normal) and then refrigerated egg product (what?).  I didn’t look into why the recipe required egg product instead of regular eggs, but I’m guessing it’s because the pie is not actually baked in the oven.  Anyways, this stuff did not look appealing at all.  I’ll even spare you the pictures this one time.  However, it was neat to see how the texture of the filling changed as I mixed in the eggs.  It transitioned from a grainy and dense mixture to smooth and fluffy.

Double Chocolate French Silk Pie | the little blue mixer

After pouring the filling into the pie, I set it in the refrigerator to chill until the next day.

Day two is where things started getting interesting….

The next layer of the pie was supposed to be a white chocolate topping made of melted white chocolate and whipping cream.  To make the topping, I melted white chocolate and whipping cream over low heat.  While the chocolate was cooling, I beat some whipping cream in the mixer until soft peaks formed.  Next, I combined the chocolate and whipped cream.  This is where everything went awry.  The first time I think I poured the chocolate in too slowly and over beat the mixture, and the second time I poured the chocolate in too fast and everything went to liquid.  It was so strange.  I’m still not 100% sure what happened.  After two failed attempts I decided to just move on with my day and leave all of the white chocolate sadness behind me.

The final layer of the pie was a semisweet chocolate topping.  The process for this was basically the same as the white chocolate.  Melt chocolate with whipping creme – Beat whipping cream until soft peaks form – Combine – Beat until stiff peaks form.  No problems with this one though!  So strange.

Double Chocolate French Silk Pie | the little blue mixer

After pouring the chocolate topping on top of the pie, I put it in the freezer to set for about 20 minutes, and then it was ready to go!

Double Chocolate French Silk Pie | the little blue mixerDouble Chocolate French Silk Pie | the little blue mixer

Mmmm.. Chocolate.

Double Chocolate French Silk Pie | the little blue mixerDouble Chocolate French Silk Pie | the little blue mixerDouble Chocolate French Silk Pie | the little blue mixer

After moving on from the white chocolate debacle, I realized that there are lots of benefits to a double as opposed to a triple chocolate pie.

  1. It’s all still chocolate.
  2. Fewer calories.
  3. Since there are fewer calories, I can eat more. (See what I did there?)
  4. There wasn’t room in the pie for three layers anyways!
  5. The pie is so delicious that it doesn’t even matter that a layer is missing. 😀

Double Chocolate French Silk Pie | the little blue mixer Double Chocolate French Silk Pie | the little blue mixer

This pie was quite tasty.  But, I don’t think it is quite up to par with Mom’s French Silk Pie.  Maybe y’all will get lucky and I’ll share that recipe with you one day. 🙂

Double Chocolate French Silk Pie | the little blue mixerDouble Chocolate French Silk Pie | the little blue mixer Double Chocolate French Silk Pie | the little blue mixer

All in all, I would say this was a pretty successful baking week.  When there is French Silk Pie involved, I don’t know how it couldn’t be successful. 🙂 Y’all be sure to have a great weekend and thank you for stopping by the blog today!

As always, be sure to swing by Fiesta Friday where I will be parting and sharing this sweet treat!

23 thoughts on “Double Chocolate French Silk Pie – Week 50

  1. Anna, your pie looks beautiful and I like your rationale that less calories means you can eat more! You think kinda like one of your aunts (wonder who that could be??)
    Also think you are right about it not beating your mom’s French Silk pie! I’m not usually a fan of chocolate pie (yes, I AM related to you! Ha ha!) but I LOVE your mom’s French Silk Pie!!

    • Thank you, Aunt Shirley!! It sounds like we have pretty good ideas! 😉

      Oh, you are so right. Not much is better than that pie! I’m thinking we should go ahead and put in our next request… 🙂

  2. I am so sad right now the pictures on your post are just pictures and not a real piece of pie sitting in front of me. This looks amazing! I love pie, especially of the chocolate type. The texture looks so creamy and decadant. I’m sorry for the frustration you had making it, but it looks absolutely perfect to me. Thanks for sharing your beautiful pictures and the recipe!

  3. I don’t know why I haven’t eaten silk pie in my entire life. 😦 Is this something like a chocolate mousse in a pie form? This looks insanely delicious, Anna. Happy FF. xx

    • Jhuls! You MUST try one! They are so good. You know what, I think thats a pretty good description; the filling is very similar to mousse. Do yourself a favor and try it!

    • Thank you, Julie! Sometimes I definitely want to leave out the messy parts, but I think it’s more encouraging to tell the whole story. I’m right there with you, and glad I’m not alone! 🙂

  4. Your silk pie looks beautiful, and the amount of layers doesn’t matter, what matters is that you used Ghirardelli chocolate!! Thanks for sharing with FF#65

  5. Pingback: One Year! The Baking Challenge Recap | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

