White Chocolate Dino Cake

This white chocolate cake is definitely a crowd pleaser.  Great flavor, moist cake, rich icing.  I mean, there is a pound of white chocolate in the icing alone.  I don’t know many people who will disagree with that.

The first time I made this cake was during The Baking Challenge that I did over the last year.  There was no way that hubs and I could even try to eat the whole cake, so after cutting out a few slices I sent the majority of the cake to work with him. It was a hit!  There was a little bit of cake left by the end of the day, so a co-worker took it home to share with his family. Well, his wife loved it, and they have since bought 2 of them from me!  Thanks so much, guys!

This most recent cake I made for them was a birthday cake for their son.  He just turned two and had a fantastic dinosaur themed party.  After they sent me a picture of what they wanted the cake to look like, I couldn’t wait to get started.  The cake is so simple and so much fun all at the same time.White Chocolate Dino Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

On the night before the party, I baked the cake. After letting it cool completely, I put the layers in airtight containers to wait for morning. If you would like to see a little more on the process for baking the cake, feel free to jump over to this post and check it out!

When morning came, I headed to the kitchen to start stacking and decorating. First, I cut each of the two layers in half so I would have a four layer cake. I set the first layer on the cake stand and spread about a cup of icing on top.

White Chocolate Dino Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

2nd layer + another cup of icingWhite Chocolate Dino Cake | The Little Blue Mixer3rd layer + another cup of icingWhite Chocolate Dino Cake | The Little Blue MixerFinally, the last layer!White Chocolate Dino Cake | The Little Blue MixerWhen the cake was stacked, I did a very thin dirty ice layer to seal in all of the crumbs and get a good foundation for the rest of the icing.White Chocolate Dino Cake | The Little Blue MixerOnce the dirty ice was finished, I set the cake in the fridge for about 30 minutes to chill and let the icing harden.

While the cake was in the fridge, I worked on my template for the dinosaurs. The design of the cake is super basic – a crisp layer of icing & then four dinosaur silhouettes around the edge of the cake. For my dino silhouettes, I did a quick hand drawing on cardstock, cut it out, and then traced it onto parchment paper. Once the parchment dino was ready to go, I went back to the fridge to check on the cake.White Chocolate Dino Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Time to ice.

I’m still trying to figure out my favorite method for icing a cake.  Start with the top, start with the sides, pipe the icing on… there are so many options.  I absolutely love the look of completely piped cakes, but that is a post for another day.  For “smooth” icing a cake, I think this method was one of the best yet.  First, I worked my way around the edge of the cake.  Then, I iced the top and connected the edges.  The hardest part for me is knowing when to stop trying to smooth out every little imperfection in the icing… I just want all everything to be just so perfect!  It’s definitely a learning process. 😀

White Chocolate Dino Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

After icing the cake, I retrieved my parchment dino silhouette and started spacing out the placement of the dinos on the side. When I was ready, I held the parchment up to the side of the cake and lightly traced the edge with a toothpick.

White Chocolate Dino Cake | The Little Blue MixerNow to add some color! I outlined the dinosaurs in two different colors and then filled in the middle with an up and down motion.White Chocolate Dino Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Ta-da! We have a dinosaur cake!White Chocolate Dino Cake | The Little Blue MixerWhite Chocolate Dino Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

I really loved how classy and simple this cake was. Sometimes we get too caught up in adding lots of bells and whistles when fresh and clean is just as beautiful! I may have to try out some more really simple designs soon.

White Chocolate Dino Cake | The Little Blue MixerWhite Chocolate Dino Cake | The Little Blue MixerThis was such a fun birthday cake to make. For the party, they just put a big ole #2 candle on top! So many fun possibilities!

White Chocolate Dino Cake | The Little Blue MixerI hope you all enjoyed this fun dino cake! Have a fantastic weekend, and I will see you all next week!

I am sharing this post over at Fiesta Friday. You should stop by to check out a really fun party!  I want to send a big thank you to everyone at Fiesta Friday for featuring my Pie Pops this week!!!  Y’all are the sweetest!

15 thoughts on “White Chocolate Dino Cake

  1. Oh how cute?! My younger 3 love anything dino, added to the cake and theyd amazed. Unfortunately my lack of skills would probably have the dinos looking more like they had made the cake! – white chocolate is my fave!

  2. Very cute cake – I can tell you make a lot of cakes by that professional cake stand. Good job on the dinosaurs! Happy Fiesta Friday and thanks for bringing a perfect cake for little boys. I don’t think little girls are interested in dinosaurs, are they? I had a nephew that just adored them 🙂

    • Thank you so much! My husband bought me that cake stand for Christmas one year, and I absolutely love it. It makes decorating so much easier! You never know! I’m sure there are some little girls out there who like dinos! But I do think we have a winner for the boys 🙂

  3. Wow this cake is so lovely Sarah! Simple cakes are my favourite, I feel like they have more of a wow factor than the fancy ones – sometimes I think they’re a bit harder too, since mistakes are more noticeable! You did a fantastic job with this though, I can imagine the birthday boy was very happy!

    Thanks so much for sharing this with us at Fiesta Friday 😀

    • Thank you!! Simple cakes are gorgeous. And they are definitely more tricky! In fact, I’m a little scared to try naked cakes because the layers have to be so perfect and pretty! Maybe one day 🙂 Thanks again! 🙂

  4. Pingback: June Favourites | Sarah's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

