Strawberry Cupcakes

Last weekend two of our best friends from college tied the knot!  Weddings are so much fun, but they are even better when you get to reunite with so many great friends.  Of course, the weekend went by way too fast.  But, we were successful in getting them married and sending them off on their honeymoon!  We love you, Brooke & Jonathon!  Congrats!

All of the bridesmaids got together and decided to throw a party for Brooke, so I made some mini strawberry cupcakes to add to the festivities.  This is my grandmother’s recipe that we grew up eating, so I knew it would be fail proof.  This recipe really is the best.  Now that I think of it, it may be the only strawberry cake that I have ever eaten.  It’s just that good!  So, lets take a look, and I promise to share the recipe with you all at the end!

Strawberry Cupcakes | The Little Blue Mixer

The recipe is built off of a box cake mix.  I usually like to make my cakes from scratch, but I am definitely making an exception for this one.  The rest of the ingredients that you will need are strawberry Jello, eggs, oil, milk, & strawberries.

Strawberry Cupcakes | The Little Blue MixerFirst up is prepping the strawberries.  To incorporate the strawberries into the cake, you will need to mash them up.  I washed mine off, cut off the tops, and then went to town with the potato masher.  You will need 1 cup of mashed berries.  You will have a cup sooner than you think though, so don’t start off mashing all of your berries.  No need in wasting them!

Strawberry Cupcakes | The Little Blue Mixer

Next, I combined the dry ingredients – cake mix and pudding.  When you are picking out your white cake mix, be sure to get one that indicates there is “pudding in the mix” or something to that effect.  I’m not 100% how the pudding will affect the outcome of this cake, but I learned from the best and that is what they say to do!  No questions!

Next, I added in the oil, milk, and egg yolks.  Be sure to separate your eggs during this step and don’t add in the egg whites!  We will use those shortly to make the cake nice and fluffy.  Strawberry Cupcakes | The Little Blue MixerAfter stirring the mixture together, I poured in the cup of mashed strawberries.  You could probably mix these in at the same time as the other wet ingredients… Maybe I’ll do that next time.

Strawberry Cupcakes | The Little Blue MixerNow for those egg whites I mentioned earlier.  I beat the egg whites until stiff peaks formed.  These will help the cake to be really light and fluffy.

Strawberry Cupcakes | The Little Blue Mixer

To finish up the cake, I carefully folded the egg whites into the batter.  This isn’t the greatest picture, but you get the point. 🙂

Strawberry Cupcakes | The Little Blue Mixer

I decided to go with mini cupcakes, but you could make a round cake, square cake, cupcakes, whatever you like!  Just set the oven to 350 degrees and follow the baking guidelines on the box mix.

And here we have lots of pretty little cupcakes!

Strawberry Cupcakes | The Little Blue Mixer

For the icing, I needed another half cup of mashed strawberries.  Since I wanted to pipe the icing, I decided to put the strawberries in the blender so I wouldn’t have any big chunks to deal with.  It worked perfectly.  A few quick pulses on liquify, and I was ready to go.  I mixed up my icing as normal, but left out the milk because of the liquid from the strawberries.  (Sorry I don’t have any photos of this!  Check out the recipe below for more direction!)

After the icing was ready to go, I picked up my icing bag and went to town.  Here is how these delicious bite size cupcakes turned out!

Strawberry Cupcakes | The Little Blue MixerStrawberry Cupcakes | The Little Blue Mixer Strawberry Cupcakes | The Little Blue Mixer

A fun fact about mini cupcakes that I learned from Mom this past weekend – 3 mini cupcakes makes up 1 regular sized cupcake!

Strawberry Cupcakes | The Little Blue Mixer Strawberry Cupcakes | The Little Blue Mixer

This cake really is so tasty!  Everyone loved it and I’m pretty sure my brother was quite happy I had a few left over to bring home to him. 😉

Strawberry Cupcakes | The Little Blue Mixer Strawberry Cupcakes | The Little Blue Mixer Strawberry Cupcakes | The Little Blue Mixer

Congratulations again to Brooke and Jonathon! 🙂

Happy baking to you all, and enjoy the recipe!  As per usual, I’ll be sharing this over at Fiesta Friday!

Strawberry Cupcakes

  • Servings: 24 cupcakes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • White Cake Mix (with pudding)
  • 1 cup strawberries, mashed
  • 1 pack strawberry Jello (3 oz)
  • 4 eggs, separated
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1/4 cup milk

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.  Grease and lightly flour pan or line with baking cups.
  2. Wash and cut stems off of strawberries.  Mash strawberries with potato masher or blend in blender.
  3. Combine cake mix and jello in a large mixing bowl.
  4. Separate egg whites from egg yolks.
  5. Add egg yolks, oil, milk, and strawberries to dry ingredients and mix until combined.
  6. In separate bowl, beat egg whites until stiff peaks form.
  7. Gently fold egg whites into cake batter.
  8. Add batter to pan(s).
  9. Bake at 350° for appropriate time on side of cake box or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.(For mini cupcakes, bake about 10-12 minutes.)
  10. Let cakes cool in pan on wire rack for 10 minutes.
  11. Remove cakes from pan and cool completely on wire rack.
  12. Frost with Strawberry Buttercream Icing.
  13. Enjoy!

Strawberry Buttercream Icing

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup strawberries, blended
  • 6 cups powdered sugar
  • 4 tablespoons butter, softened
  • Pecans, chopped (optional)

Directions

  1. Wash and cut stems off of strawberries.  Blend strawberries in blender or food processor.
  2. In a large bowl, beat softened butter with an electric mixer until smooth.
  3. Alternate mixing in powdered sugar and strawberries until all ingredients are added and icing is spreading consistency.
  4. If desired, stir in lightly toasted pecans.

14 thoughts on “Strawberry Cupcakes

  1. All your posts are great. The dino cake and strawberry mini cupcakes are simple and quality offerings. The pie pops look like something you would see in a specialty shop, very fancy. I can’t imagine how much time this took, lots of work. I would think your friends you made these for should realize what a creative and time consuming contribution you made to their special day. Looks great. I think i would try the pecan and peach pi pops first. The turtles look like they might be my favorite. Obviously you appear to use only the best top quality organic native hand picked and shelled pecans from Woodville, Mississippi Springhill Plantation. Wonder who your specialty supplier is? I see you’ve used these pecans in a number of dishes, but the turtles look delicious. You should make some type of chocolate pecan praline recepe sometime and just traditional pecan pralines. Quality pecans make great dishes. Only the best ingredients and your baking artistic skills make your site and up and coming hit for readers

    • Thank you, Dad! You always leave the most meaningful comments. Thank you!

      I will have to make you some turtles one day! I have a special guy for my pecans. I only get them from him. 😉 From what I hear, he just planted a lot of trees last year… so I’ll let him know you may be interested in some top quality pecans. 😛 I’ll be sure to add pralines to my list too!

      Thank you!!

  2. Your piping skills are amazing. Just stumbled across your blog. It’s amazing! Love the recipes and the photography is amazing. 😊

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Turtle Cake – Part 2 + How to Frost a Rosette! | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

