Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

Earlier this year, husband and I went to the Flowertown festival here in town. They had tons of booths set up with arts, crafts, and food vendors galore. Anytime we go somewhere like this, I always love to check out the baked goods. It’s so fun to see what fun things everyone else is coming up with. As we were walking along, I saw this little bakery giving out samples. Of course, I walked right up to check it out and see what I could try! They had several things on the menu for the day, but I immediately went to this delicious mountain of a cookie cake piled high with chocolate icing. As we walked off and I ate my little sample, I was floored by how delicious it was.  Man oh man, was it tasty. It was so good that we ended up buying a slice on our way back by!

Ever since then, I have been thinking about just how good that cookie cake was. This wasn’t your run of the mill mall cookie cake. (Although I am a fan of those.) This cookie cake, it was something else. I mean, the amount of icing on top of the cookie was as thick as the cookie itself. It was about 2 inches tall. Ridiculous. …and delicious. If I hadn’t been sharing, I’m not so sure I would have been able to finish the piece. Then again… maybe I could have. 🙂

I wanted to try making my own version of this deliciousness, so here we are with this post!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Personally, I’m a huge fan of the Nestle chocolate chip cookie recipe. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. But, I decided to branch out a bit this time and try a recipe my husband grew up with. It is equally delicious, and I’m excited to share it with you today.

First up, cream the softened butter and shortening in your mixing bowl.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Next, mix in the brown sugar and granulated sugar.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue MixerChocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

When the sugar is fully incorporated into the butter, beat in the eggs one at a time. After the eggs, mix in the vanilla.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

In a separate mixing bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt. Then, gradually mix the flour mixture into the cookie dough.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Most importantly, don’t forget your chocolate chips!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

There are several different options when you get to this step. If you go the cookie cake route, as opposed to regular cookies, now is the time to choose your pan. Since I wanted a round cake, I decided to use my tart pan! I baked my giant cookie at 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes, and here it is…

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Yay! Giant cookie success!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Now, for the icing. 🙂 I went with a standard chocolate buttercream, but the icing on the cookie cake I tried at the festival was a little fudgier. It’s really a win-win situation whichever direction you go.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue MixerChocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

I looked up several different ways to ice the cookie, but I ended up deciding to just make it my own. I wanted to cover the whole cookie in chocolate, so I put down a thick layer and tried to make it look wispy and carefree. Ok, I just tried to make it pretty. 🙂

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Then, I went back around the edge with a thick border to finish it off!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue MixerChocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

So pretty.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

More importantly, sooo tasty.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue Mixer Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

On a slightly different note, I think I have spoiled some of my coworkers by bringing in baked goods. It had been a month or two since I last brought in a dessert, and I can’t tell you how many good-natured comments and requests I had in that time span. I think this one has silenced them for a little while though! Everyone loved it.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue MixerChocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

I could go for another piece myself. I will definitely be making this again sometime in the future!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

I hope you all enjoy the recipe. Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy Baking! And happy Fiesta Friday!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

*For cookie cake, make a double recipe. You may even have some left over for extra cookies!

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup butter, softened
  • 1/3 cup shortening
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 ½ cup all purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 6 ounces chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt and set to the side.
  3. In separate mixing bowl, cream together butter and shortening.
  4. Add in both granulated and brown sugar and mix until well incorporated.
  5. Add egg and beat until well.
  6. Mix in vanilla.
  7. Gradually mix flour mixture into dough until everything is combined.
  8. Stir in chocolate chips
  9. For cookies – bake at 375 for about 10 minutes.
  10. For cookie cake – bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes.
  11. Remove from oven and let cool.
  12. Enjoy!

http://www.thelittlebluemixer.wordpress.com

30 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

  1. I must have it! Such a brilliant idea! I am such a chocolate chip cookie addict (I usually use a recipe adapted from Ina Garten’s, but I need to try the Nestle recipe too!) I agree… if it ain’t broke, why fix it? 🙂 ESPECIALLY when it’s something beautiful like that!
    Happy Fiesta Friday!

  2. I’ve eaten these cookies made from this recipe by Leah Reid herself. They were always delicious! Erin (Brian and Erin were childhood church buddies) loves making cookie cakes so I will definitely be passing this blog post along to her. 🙂

  3. I need you to move back south and make this for me because I don’t trust myself not to eat the raw cookie dough, at least until February.

      • Since it’s taking you quite a few days to pack, I assume that means you are packing an extra large bag so you can live near me and feed me and Baby A all kinds of delicious treats.

  4. What a cookie cake! I have never seen one and now I wish I could get it here somehwere! I love the chocolate chips and that gorgeous lookign chocolate icecream! 🙂 Happy Fiesta Friday!

  5. Pingback: July Favourites | Sarah's Kitchen

  6. Pingback: Summer Special Week 7 – Cookie Dough Ice Cream | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

