Rocky Road Fudge Brownies

This week I decided to something a little different and add my own twist of ingredients to a basic recipe.  The base recipe is, of course, completely delicious by itself, but I wanted to throw in a little extra flavor and texture.  I started off with a really solid recipe for brownies.  When it comes to cookies and brownies, I tend to be a big fan of chunks.  So, naturally, I decided to make some Rocky Road Fudge Brownies!

If you aren’t familiar with rocky road, it’s basically a combination of chocolate, nuts, and marshmallows.  It’s a pretty popular ice cream flavor, but it also makes appearances in other desserts.  One of my favorites is rocky road fudge.  Mmm.  So tasty.

Now, lets get started on these delicious and rocky road filled fudge brownies.

Rocky Road Fudge Brownies | The Little Blue Mixer

(I forgot to included the marshmallows in the ingredient pic.  Oops!)

To begin, I combined my butter and chocolate chips in glass bowl and alternated microwaving and stirring for about a minute.  Be careful not burn your chocolate here!  I microwaved for 15 seconds, then stirred, 15 more seconds, stirred… you get the picture.

Rocky Road Fudge Brownies | The Little Blue Mixer

Next, I stirred in the sugar.  The mixture gets a little thick, but thats ok.  We want thick fudgy brownies.

Rocky Road Fudge Brownies | The Little Blue Mixer

When the sugar is incorporated into the chocolate, beat in the eggs and vanilla.

Rocky Road Fudge Brownies | The Little Blue MixerNext up are the flour, baking powder, and salt.  I combined these three dry ingredients in a small bowl and then stirred them into the brownies all at once.  You can just add them straight into the batter, though.  It won’t hurt a thing.

Rocky Road Fudge Brownies | The Little Blue Mixer

If you are just going for regular brownies, this is your exit.  Stir in some chocolate chips and head to the oven.  BUT, if you’re feeling a little but more adventurous, this is where we load these brownies up.

I stirred about 2/3 cup each of chocolate chips, chopped pecans, and marshmallows into the batter and then poured it into my baking pan.  I like baking brownies and cookies with extra topping on top for two reasons

  1. It’s delicious
  2. It looks good in photos 😀

So, I went ahead and added about 1/3 cup each of chocolate, pecans, and marshmallows on top of the brownies before baking.

Rocky Road Fudge Brownies | The Little Blue Mixer

The brownies need to bake for about 30 minutes or until the center is set.  I would recommend lightly and very loosely covering the brownies with aluminum foil for the last 10 minutes or so of baking.  This will help make sure your toppings, especially the marshmallows, don’t burn.

Rocky Road Fudge Brownies | The Little Blue MixerRocky Road Fudge Brownies | The Little Blue Mixer

You might be wondering why my marshmallows look a little rectangular as opposed to normal and round… Well, we only had the giant square s’mores marshmallows in the pantry.  I didn’t want to go to the store for mini ones, so I just chopped up what I had.  Hey, ya gotta make do. 🙂

Rocky Road Fudge Brownies | The Little Blue MixerRocky Road Fudge Brownies | The Little Blue Mixer

I was really happy with how these came out.  For a little bit, I was almost worried I had added too many rocky road ingredients.  There was a pretty high ratio of chunks to batter.  But, I like how they came out in the end!  You can always add less if you want.

Rocky Road Fudge Brownies | The Little Blue MixerRocky Road Fudge Brownies | The Little Blue Mixer

These tasted so good.  Just so fudgy and delicious.

Rocky Road Fudge Brownies | The Little Blue Mixer Rocky Road Fudge Brownies | The Little Blue Mixer

Mmm.  I hope that you all enjoy!  Feel free to mix it up a bit and make this recipe your own.  Pretty much anything you throw at these brownies will be delicious.  Happy Baking!

I will be sharing this post over at Fiesta Friday!  Stop by to see it and so many others!

Rocky Road Fudge Brownies

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 6 ounces chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup pecans, chopped
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 cup marshmallows

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Grease 8x8x2 inch pan. If desired, first line pan with aluminum foil and then grease foil.
  3. Melt butter and 6 oz chocolate chips in microwave.  Alternate warming and stirring until chocolate is melted, about 1 minute.
  4. Stir in granulated sugar.
  5. Beat in eggs and vanilla.
  6. Stir in flour, baking powder, and salt.
  7. Stir in 2/3 cup each of chocolate chips, pecans, and marshmallows.
  8. Spread batter evenly in prepared pan and top with remaining chocolate chips, pecans, and marshmallows.
  9. Bake for 20 minutes.  Lightly cover brownies with aluminum foil and bake for 10 more minutes or until center is set.
  10. Let cool completely in pan on wire rack.
  11. Enjoy!

http://www.thelittlebluemixer.wordpress.com

14 thoughts on “Rocky Road Fudge Brownies

  1. Thanks for bringing this delicious treat to Fiesta Friday, I know for sure there won’t be an empty bowl when the party ends. Love the ingredients in this – I know I love the Rocky Road ice cream, this has to be a gorgeous treat for that special occasion. Happy weekend!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Favorite Food – 31 | Edible Reflections

  3. Pingback: Perfect Fudge Brownies | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

