Angel Food Cake

This is my great, great grandmother’s recipe for Angel Food Cake.  The fact that this recipe has been passed down through 5 generations should be a quick indicator of just how delicious it truly is!  This cake is absolutely light and fluffy, and the flavor is spot on.  It’s like eating a delicious dessert cloud.  I know that sounds a little crazy, but it’s just such a light and airy cake.

This cake is almost a legend in our family.  Well, not quite a legend, but my great aunt sure was known for it. 🙂 She would make this cake and then top it with divinity icing.  Talk about sweet.  And talk about delicious.  I won’t be sharing the icing with you today, but I may have to work that in one day in the future.  For now, I decided to make a light summer version of this cake and top it with fresh strawberries.  I wouldn’t call this an easy recipe, but if you are willing to take a little time and make this one… I promise you won’t regret it!

Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

This recipe calls for 2.5 cups of egg whites.  That is a lot of eggs.  I think I used… 18 eggs?  Is that right… I think so.  Anyways, make sure you have plenty of eggs on hand before starting this one!  (I may have had to make a trip to the grocery store mid prep work because I underestimated just how many eggs I needed.)

To start off, go ahead and separate the egg whites and yolks.  Make sure you have 2.5 cups of whites and then pour them into a large mixing bowl.  Really, you will need a big bowl.  That’s a lot of egg whites to beat!

Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Beat the egg whites until they begin to foam and then mix in the cream of tartar.

Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Begin beating the egg whites again, this time until stiff peaks form.  See, I told you your bowl would fill up really fast!

Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Now it’s time to add in the sugar.  To make sure the cake is extra light without any lumps, sift the sugar 4 times before adding it to the eggs.  (I’m not sure where 4 times came from, but it works!)  Once the sugar is sifted, we are going to gradually mix it in.  If you add it all at once, you will undo all of the hard work you just did on the egg whites.  So, pour in a little, beat the mixture, pour in a little more, beat again.. until all of the sugar is incorporated.

Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Next up is the flour.  The flour will also need to be sifted 4 times and then gradually folded into the eggs.  At this point, I switched over to using my spatula instead of the mixer.  The bowl was getting awfully full, and I wanted to make sure the flour was gently incorporated into the batter.

Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

The last ingredient to add is vanilla.  Pour in the 2 teaspoons of vanilla and then gently fold the mixture until it is well dispersed.

Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

That’s a lot of cake batter!  Now, pour the batter evenly into a non-greased angel food cake pan.  The recipe instructed to bake for one hour at 300° in a cold oven.  I took “cold oven” to mean a non-preheated oven.  So, I set the cake in the oven, turned it on, and let it bake for the hour.

Be careful here though!  My oven has a rapid preheat setting, which I didn’t think twice about using.  Well, this is when I learned that oven turns on the broiler for the rapid preheat.  This is usually a great feature… but not so much when there is a cake in the oven!  Thankfully, I was still in the kitchen and glanced in the oven about 10 minutes into baking.  I noticed the cake was already browning and knew that something strange was going on.  I took the cake out and mulled over it for a minute before deciding to lightly cover it with aluminum foil.  I lowered the oven rack a little and set it back in to bake.  Thankfully, everything turned out alright in the end!

Even though the pan was full to the brim when you put it in the oven, the cake is still going to rise. So, don’t be surprised when you see that!

Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

When the cake is finished baking, remove it from the oven and let it cool for 10 minutes on a wire rack.  Then, invert the pan so the cake is upside down and let it cool completely.  Remove the cake from the pan, and have yourself a piece!

Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

This cake only has 5 simple ingredients.  It’s so neat to me how 5 basic ingredients can be combined to make such a delicious dessert!

Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Gorgeous.

Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

I decided to top mine with fresh strawberries, but you can get creative with lots of different fruits.  Slice a few strawberries and mix them with a little sugar, you will have a deliciously sweet topping.  Not that the cake really needs it; I like it all by itself!

Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Just look how light and fluffy this cake is! Mmmm 🙂

Angel Food Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Happy Baking! And Happy Fiesta Friday!

Thanks so much for stopping by today!

Angel Food Cake

The Little Blue Mixer

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups egg whites
  • 3 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 2 1/2 cups sugar, sifted 4 times
  • 1 3/4 cups cake flour, sifted 4 times
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla

Directions

  1. Separate egg whites and pour into large mixing bowl
  2. Beat egg whites until foamy and mix in cream of tartar
  3. Beat until stiff peaks form
  4. Gradually mix in sifted sugar
  5. Gradually fold in sifted flour
  6. Add vanilla
  7. Pour into non-greased angel food cake pan (these have 2 pieces!)
  8. Bake for 60 minutes at 300° in a non-preheated oven
  9. Remove cake from oven and let cool in pan on wire rack for 10 minutes
  10. Invert cake and let cool completely
  11. Remove from pan & enjoy!

http://www.thelittlebluemixer.wordpress.com

20 thoughts on “Angel Food Cake

  1. Angel food cake is a favorite of mine since I was a child. This never goes out of sight when there is a party of gathering. Your cake looks amazing, Anna. 🙂

  2. There’s something very majestic about this cake! A whole cloud of egg whites with just enough flour folded in to hold it together…thanks for sharing such a precious recipe! (And just curious…what do you do with all the yolks?)

    • Thank you so much! It is definitely a special recipe. 🙂

      Hah, I was wondering what to do with all of the yolks myself! We ended up having eggs for dinner. 😀 My mom recommended making banana pudding, so I may have to try that next time around.

Leave a Reply

