Strawberry Chocolate Scones

To all of my fellow bloggers out there – have you ever had a week where you just didn’t know what to do?  Not sure what food to make… what blog to write… just couldn’t find that inspiration?  Well, that was me this week.  I was in a baking funk.  Sometimes life just gets super busy and you don’t know where all of the hours in the day go.  Finally, though, I got around to baking these scones last night so I could share them with you!

I have seen quite a few recipes for scones, but this was my first attempt to make them.  Truthfully, these aren’t my favorite.  I think they have lots of potential, but they just aren’t quite top notch yet.  I took it back to my Baking cookbook by Better Homes and Gardens for this recipe.  Originally, the recipe calls for cranberries, but I realized soon after getting started that the cranberries in the back of my pantry weren’t really all that good anymore… So, I scratched that idea and decided to throw in some strawberries instead!

Strawberry Chocolate Scones | The Little Blue Mixer

To start off, I combined the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl and stirred together.  Then, I added largish chunks of cold butter and combined with a pastry blender.

Strawberry Chocolate Scones | The Little Blue Mixer

Next up, the liquid!

Strawberry Chocolate Scones | The Little Blue Mixer

I poured the eggs, whipping cream, chocolate chips, & strawberries into a separate bowl and stirred them together.  For the strawberries, I diced a few up into small cubes.  Next go round, I think I will mash them up so the flavor is spread more evenly through the scones.

Strawberry Chocolate Scones | The Little Blue Mixer Strawberry Chocolate Scones | The Little Blue Mixer Then, I poured the liquid into the flour mixture and stirred just until the whole mixture was moistened. Strawberry Chocolate Scones | The Little Blue Mixer

This is a super quick and easy recipe!  I rolled the dough out onto my lightly floured counter top and kneaded until it held together well.  Then, I divided the dough in two pieces and patted each out into about 6 inch circles.  I cut each circle into 6 wedges and moved them over to my baking sheet.

Strawberry Chocolate Scones | The Little Blue Mixer

The last step in the recipe said to brush the tops with more cream.  However, I won’t be doing that part next time around.  The cream keeps the tops from turning nice and golden while baking, and I would rather have a nice crust on top.  I also think the scones would also keep a little better if you skip this step, since there would be less moisture in the bread.

Strawberry Chocolate Scones | The Little Blue Mixer

Well, here they are!  Overall, I would say this one was a success but with room for improvement.  They were tasty; I liked them best hot out of the oven!

Strawberry Chocolate Scones | The Little Blue Mixer

I whipped together a little icing with powdered sugar, milk, and vanilla and drizzled it on top.  Just right!

Strawberry Chocolate Scones | The Little Blue MixerStrawberry Chocolate Scones | The Little Blue Mixer

The scones were nice and flaky.  I definitely want to try out more scone recipes in the future and also work on perfecting this one.  So much potential!  Here is the original recipe by Better Homes and Gardens if you want to give it a try – Cranberry-Chocolate Scones.

Happy Baking! And Happy Fiesta Friday!

7 thoughts on “Strawberry Chocolate Scones

Leave a Reply

