Caramel Apples

Alright, it’s time for another fun fall recipe!  Caramel apples are a fall staple, but… you know what?  This is the first time I’ve made them!  (I’ll add in a small disclaimer here stating that it is entirely possible I made them as a child and just don’t remember. 😀 )  I made a little bit of a mess in the kitchen, but these were a lot of fun to put together.  There are so many options, and they are all bound to turn out tasty.  So, have fun and make this one your own!

On a side note, when I think of caramel apples, my mind goes straight to those caramel apple suckers that are only sold in the fall.  You know the ones I’m talking about?  Like a green apple jolly rancher covered in caramel.  Anyways, they are so good.  One of my very best friends from college introduced me to them and I will forever be thankful. 😉 If you are looking for some tasty candy to hand out to the kiddos this year, go get some of those!

Now, back to the real deal.  It’s pretty hard to mess these up.  Grab some apples, unwrap some caramels, pick some toppings out of your pantry, and we are ready to get started!

Caramel Apples | The Little Blue Mixer

I chose to go with granny smith apples.  They have a tanginess that contrasts nicely with the caramel and other sweets you add to the apple.  For prep work, wash and dry the apples really well so the caramel doesn’t have any issues sticking to the apple.  Also, if you store your apples in the fridge (like me) let them sit out a bit before you get started.

Caramel Apples | The Little Blue Mixer

I used wooden bbq skewers for the sticks in my apples.  They got the job done, but I think I will go with something a little studier next time.  The apples get pretty heavy once you add the caramel, so want to be sure you have a good grip on them.

Once the apples are prepped, it’s time for the caramel!  I used the Kraft caramels that come individually wrapped.

Caramel Apples | The Little Blue Mixer

After unwrapping the caramels, put them in a microwavable bowl and alternate microwaving for 30 seconds and stirring until melted.  Add in a little bit of water, about a teaspoon at a time, to make the caramel a nice and smooth.

Caramel Apples | The Little Blue Mixer

When the caramel is melted, slowly roll your apple through it until you cover all of the sides.  Don’t worry if it doesn’t look perfect, you’ll likely cover it up with more toppings.  I learned that the most important step here is to make sure your caramel is warm and liquidy.  You don’t want it to be soupy, but you definitely don’t want it to be clumpy.  The smoother the caramel, the easier it will go onto the apples.  I had to stop after every other apple to pop the caramel back in the microwave.  Don’t be afraid to do that!

Caramel Apples | The Little Blue Mixer

Before setting the apple down on your parchment lined pan, scrape the caramel off of the bottom.  Some of the excess caramel is going to slowly roll down the sides of the apple, and this will help make sure you don’t end up with a huge puddle of caramel.

This is also decision time – you have tasty apples covered in caramel, now what do you want to do with them?  You can…

  1. Have a plain caramel covered apple. (always a win)Caramel Apples | The Little Blue MixerCaramel Apples | The Little Blue Mixer
  2. Roll the apple in your choice of topping. Peanuts, candy, sugar, chocolate, whatever you’re feeling!
  3. Caramel Apples | The Little Blue MixerCaramel Apples | The Little Blue MixerLet the caramel dry and then cover it in CHOCOLATE!
  4. Caramel Apples | The Little Blue MixerCaramel Apples | The Little Blue MixerAdd even more toppings to your chocolate and caramel covered apples. 😀 Caramel Apples | The Little Blue Mixer Caramel Apples | The Little Blue MixerCaramel Apples | The Little Blue Mixer

As you can see… I chose to do a little bit of everything. 🙂

Caramel Apples | The Little Blue Mixer Caramel Apples | The Little Blue Mixer

I decided to store my finished apples in the fridge until it was time to eat them.  If you do that, take the apples out of the fridge a little bit before you are ready to eat so the caramel has a chance to loosen up.

Caramel Apples | The Little Blue Mixer Caramel Apples | The Little Blue Mixer

See, wasn’t that easy?  I still have a few dirty dishes in my kitchen, but other than that, I am calling these caramel apples a success!

Y’all have fun with this one!

14 thoughts on “Caramel Apples

  1. Pingback: Salted Caramel Popcorn – with Chocolate! | thelittlebluemixer

Leave a Reply

