Chocolate Baby Shower Cake!

Hey there, everyone!  I hope you all have had a fabulous week.  I, for one, am so glad we have made it to the weekend.  Ever have one of those days where you come home from work and don’t feel like you can think straight anymore?  Well, that’s me today, very grateful it’s Friday. 🙂

Today I am going to share a sweet chocolate cake that I made for a friend’s baby shower.  One of the gals in my small group is having a baby boy, so naturally we all got together to celebrate!  I was on cake duty, and I decided to use a tried and true chocolate cake recipe.  A few month’s ago I shared the recipe on this Chocolate Turtle Cake post; you should go check it out!

I scoured Pinterest trying to think of the best way to decorate the cake, but I finally decided to go with a super simple design and make it my own.  There are SO many cute baby shower cakes out there, but I just didn’t have a ton of time to do something super artsy.  I contemplated using different colors for the icing, but in the end chocolate won out.  I just couldn’t bring myself to make a chocolate cake and then not ice it with chocolate icing.  Actually, I made chocolate cream cheese icing this time around.  It was delish.

Chocolate Baby Shower Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Since I’ve shared this cake recipe with you before, I am going to skip straight to the decorating!  I put a nice layer of icing on top of the bottom layer of cake and then set the next layer on top.

Chocolate Baby Shower Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Then I went ahead and iced the tops and sides of the cake with a decent amount of icing.  This is where I want to learn some new tricks.  Do you have any tips for making your buttercream super smooth on the top and sides of a cake?  I have a tendency to get a nice smooth layer, see one more small spot I want to touch up… and then mess the whole thing up.  I’m probably a little too nit-picky sometimes. 😀 If I ever figure out a super reliable technique, I’ll be sure to let you all know!

Chocolate Baby Shower Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

I knew I’d be covering up the edges, so I wasn’t too worried about that.  But, I wish the sides and top were a little prettier.  Eh, oh well.  It tasted awesome. 😉

To keep the cake design super simple, I just opted to do a big border around the top and bottom edges.  Of course, I used my favorite tip – 1M Wilton.  This technique is pretty popular.  It’s also super simple!  Holding your piping bag, slowly increase pressure and lift the bag up and ever so slightly to the left.  Then, decrease pressure while moving to the right and back towards the surface.  Does that make sense?  Just repeat the same motion all the way around the cake and you have yourself a border!

Chocolate Baby Shower Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Such a simple addition to a cake really makes it pop and adds a little wow factor.

Chocolate Baby Shower Cake | The Little Blue Mixer Chocolate Baby Shower Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

Mom is the one who taught me how to do this one.  Thanks, Mom. 🙂

Chocolate Baby Shower Cake | The Little Blue MixerChocolate Baby Shower Cake | The Little Blue Mixer Chocolate Baby Shower Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

For the party, I cut out some cute little triangle flags to spell baby’s name and draped them between two skewers in the cake.  Super simple!

Chocolate Baby Shower Cake | The Little Blue Mixer Chocolate Baby Shower Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

This was a fun (and tasty) cake to make!  Thanks for stopping by today, and I hope y’all have a fantastic weekend. If you would like the recipe, be sure to check it out here!

Chocolate Baby Shower Cake | The Little Blue Mixer

I’ll be sharing this post over at Fiesta Friday!

21 thoughts on “Chocolate Baby Shower Cake!

  1. The way I learned in a Wilton cake decorating class to smooth the icing is to put hot tap water in a glass and, using a metal spatula, dip the spatula in the water and then smooth the icing. If icing accumulates on spatula – scrape it off. Then dip in water and smooth the icing until you are satisfied with the way it looks. The warm spatula helps to smooth the icing.

  2. Love, love chocolate! Pinterest drives me crazy with all of the beautiful pictures – it is overwhelming and I can understand why you decided on “simple” but elegant! I was the “cake maker” for many years and this is how I smoothed out a cake – lesson learned from classes. Heat a small pan of water and take your offset spatula and dip it in and smooth out the cake sides with the warm spatula. Keep doing this until you are happy with the results. You will also remove excess frosting in the process. Happy Fiesta Friday and thanks for sharing… 🙂

  3. I hope you had a fun time at the shower! I’m sure your cake was well enjoyed by all. I love the different layers, but also your frosting job. It looks spectacular from all the different angles you showed us. Happy FF, and have a wonderful weekend! 😀

Leave a Reply

