White Cake with Chocolate Ganache

Some dear friends of ours just recently moved to another part of the country.  In fact, we know several families who are in the process of moving right now.  Moving is definitely not an easy process, and it’s never fun saying goodbye.  But, cake is sure to brighten the mood a little bit. 🙂

We had a little get together to say farewell, and I wanted to make a cake that everyone could enjoy.  Vanilla + chocolate is usually a crowd pleaser (at least in my crowds 😀 ), so I decided to go with a white cake, chocolate filling, and a yummy ganache on top.

DSC_0053

This is a family recipe that my mom has made it quite a few times, but I somehow forgot about it until last fall.  I sure am glad I found it again though, because it is good!  It starts out with a box cake mix, and you add in several other ingredients to dress it up a bit.

If you follow the recipe, it really is quite simple!  Just combine all of the ingredients and mix for ten minutes (or less if using a big stand mixer).

 

I’ll go ahead and be completely honest with you here though.  I messed something up when making this recipe.  I know I know… I JUST told you how simple this recipe is to make.  Turns out, you should read the ingredients carefully no matter how easy the directions are. 😀 As I was hastily reading the recipe, I’m pretty sure I used used shortening instead of oil.  I should also mention that I made the recipe a second time to make cupcakes for the party.  Thinking back, I may have put both shortening and oil in the second go round.  Oh man.  Maybe I did it correctly, and I’m just confusing myself?  Thankfully, both the cake and cupcakes came out tasty!

The layers came out with this crinkly crust on top, and they baked sooo evenly.  It was just beautiful.  I made the most evenly baked cake, and I don’t even know what I put in it.  Ahhhh.

DSC_0015DSC_0018

Anyways.

I stacked the cake with a chocolate buttercream filling and iced the outside with vanilla buttercream.  Perfect original combo.  Just like some Blue Bell Great Divide magic.  Simple and delicious.  Chocolate and vanilla.

 

DSC_0032

 

To finish it off, I made a ganache to cover the top.  This was only the second time I’ve used a ganache on a cake – I am hooked!  Drip cakes are all the rage on Instagram and Pinterest, and I can definitely see why.  I’m excited to keep playing around with it in the future.

DSC_0055DSC_0045

Y’all stay tuned on this one.  I am going to have to make this cake again and give you a few more details and tips from all my lessons learned. 😀

DSC_0052DSC_0054

This is such a simple and oh so tasty recipe.  If you are looking for a tried and true white cake recipe, give this one a try!

Thank y’all for stopping by! 🙂

Anna

White Cake

Ingredients

  • 1 box white cake mix
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 3 egg whites
  • 3/4 cup crisco oil
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients in large mixing bowl.
  2. Mix until well combined – approx 5-10 minutes.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees till cake pulls away from sides of pan or toothpick comes out clean when inserted in middle of cake. Time will vary depending on the size pan you are using – use the guidelines from you box mix to get started!
  4. Let cake cool completely and ice as desired!
  5. Enjoy!

The Little Blue Mixer

http://www.thelittlebluemixer.wordpress.com

 

2 thoughts on “White Cake with Chocolate Ganache

Leave a comment